We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat! Love the Backpacker Pancakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooper's Downtown - CLOSED

Hooper's Downtown
556 West Main St, Sylva, NC
828-587-5116
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: breakfast and lunch served all day. Best breakfast in jackson county.
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place to eat! Love the Backpacker Pancakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great service, generous portions and really friendly waitresses! The best place to go to feel welcome and get wonderful service.

We go there all the time for breakfast and have never had a bad meal. You have a bottomless cup of coffee. The locals love it and I would definately recommend to tourists. Their sandwiches are great and hamburgers are hugh!

We love the warm atmosphere and clean tables and restrooms.

Thanks to all of the employees for making this a great place to visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayesville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gross!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Do not order the french dip! It was some kind of pressed gross stuff that I had never seen or tasted anything like it before. One waitress said it was steakumms, that's just disgusting! Said the guy was going to change that but had to use this up first! Then they offered me a prime rib sandwich as they had prime rib from the night before, it was just as gross and microwaved and disgusting! These people have no culinary experience and have no business in the restaurant business! Just appalling.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Love their blueberry pancakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place to have breakfast until 3 p.m. Food and servers exceptional. Favorite of locals and I highly recomment it to tourists.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great food, service, and prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My grandchildren and I went to Hooper's this weekend and we found it to be wonderful. We were greeted as soon as we walked in the door and were seated quickly. Our server was very friendly and ontop of everything keeping our drinks filled and plates cleared from the table. The food was excellent and came out in a timely manner. I highly recommend the breakfast combo #5 and the Backpacker Pancakes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Basic Food Well Served”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Basic menu, with nothing really out of the ordinary, offers Breakfast all day (open until 3:00). Lunchtime buffet was popular, but I did not try it (generally I do not go for buffets).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooper's Downtown also viewed

Sylva, Jackson County
 
Sylva, Jackson County
Sylva, Jackson County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooper's Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.