We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonshine Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sylva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonshine Creek Campground
2486 Dark Ridge Road, Sylva, NC 28779   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutly Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This campground was recommeded by a co-worker. We are tent campers; Me, my wife, and two boys (5 and 6). We rented one of the large camping cabins; #7. This campground is amazing. Quiet, clean, and close to just about everything. The camping cabins are essentially a dryer version of tent camping; very clean with one outlet for power. The kids loved the bunk loft. There was plenty room for two medium size dog crates too. The campground is pet friendly; I think everyone has one or two dogs. Oh, and most of the towns around Moonshine Creek are very dog friendly; especially Waynesville. The bathrooms are very clean. There is plenty of hot water in the shower house. The train comes through about twice a week; not early though so you can still sleep in. The kids LOVED that. the creek is perfect for the kids to splash around; chasing salamnders and crawfish. The owners are really freindly; as is everyone working there. The fishing pond was just completed as we were leaving. I look forward to coming back again. This was one of the best camgrounds I have ever been to. There are some really great tent spots that overlook the creek. The RV sites look great too. Once we make the move to a travel trailer Moonshine will be one of out first stops. Best vacation in years!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came here under the idea that there was trout fishing on site or nearby, which there was a pond that wasn't even filled before we left on the 4th of July, when they planned to stock it who knows. They claim to be able to fish in the stream, the stream is only 4"-6" deep and would be lucky to find fish in it larger enough to take a hook much less eat for dinner.
The so called WIFI hotspot is at the office so if you want to pack up your PC and walk or drive to the office and surf the web have at it but, don't even entertain the idea of using your PC at your site.
The next thing is the "Close to many attractions" yeah, if after you drove a few hundred miles to get here your idea of vacation was drive all over town to look for something to do then again this is your place because nothing we inquired about was less than a 15 minute drive so if you’re in a motor home or don't have secondary transportation NOTHING is walking distance.
Next...hey guys, if you enjoy the outdoors in the summer and enjoy catching a tan as I do going shirtless off your site is against the dress code(Which is nowhere on the website) also for those who like to play music, understand you are in a retirement home/trailer park so apparently quiet hour is all day.
And 1 last thing, if you have a 50 amp system, no problem they will be free to tell you after you are set up in a 30 amp site you don't need your 2nd A/C system but, even on a 30 amp site whatever you do don't use a surge protector because they don't have consistent power due to an outdated power grid so your unit will cut power to save your rigs electrical.
All in all, this was a huge waste of our money as far as we are concerned and all but ruined our vacation by coming here and we are leaving 4 days earlier than planned to try and salvage what we can of it.
Oh and I almost forgot, no refunds if you leave early so do pay for more than you are willing to lose if you take the chance on staying here.

To make it simple go to this part of their site "http://www.moonshinecreek.com/tour/" if you and your party are in the same company as the couple in the 2 row far right picture you'll be happy here. If not look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Moonshine Creek Campground, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Moonshine Creek is a special type of Campground. Our campers come to listen to the creek, enjoy nature and the relaxed atmosphere. We understand that it is not for everyone and we do not advertise ourselves as a resort style campground. Our location is great for people and families that enjoy outside activites, the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, fishing, river rafting, etc. and the fish in the creek are small native trout with the pond now full of water we will be stocking it in the near future. We don't allow loud music at any time of the day it is just not the type of campground that we want to be and we feel it is important to respond to our campers complaints. We hope you find a place in the mountains and come back and enjoy this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had two campsites in this beautiful campground. The owners were very helpful in getting us a good side by side location for two tent sites. The location of tent sites is great as it is just next to downstream creek. So a nice sleep in the night is for sure. The washrooms were kept clean and are with hot showers.

Only reason for not giving 5-stars is few things, which dont matter a lot but still can be good suggestion, The showers and washroom area for tent sites is a bit away from them. They have one single toilet though near tent site, but if tent sites are full, then you have go a bit away to the main showers area. And to some extent the camp sites are very close to each other.

The wifi is limited to the registration lobby area and can be used even in few nearing tent sites.

Overall, it has very good amenities as listed, friendly staff and a very family friendly surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This campground is beautiful. Very very clean restrooms. Had a site right along the creek, it was gorgeous. The owners will do anything for you, they are so friendly and helpful. I was treated like a family member while I was at Moonshine Creek. Thank you to Jim, Jim B, and Dana!! This is a one of a kind campground - nicest I've ever been to!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nana1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wonderful, cool, quiet, well maintained campground. Host Jim & Dana take very good care of their guest. Sitting by the fire pit with a roaring fire, listening to the creek sounds puts me right to sleep. All the host are so friendly and most helpful. Guest are downright friendly as well. We will not camp anywhere else! Love my Moonshine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The campground has a nice setting, but the facilities are old. I asked for a quiet site that was dark, no lights. They gave me a place with a big close streetlight and no way to block it out in the cabin. So I moved to a campsite, telling them in the morning that I would return late that night, left gear in site to show it was occupied. When I arrived that night, they had given the site to someone else.

The people you talk to on the phone are nice, but the follow thru is not good and the local staff are different people, some just arrived and not well informed.

This place seems better suited to trailer people who are staying a while and have all their own facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Moonshine Creek Campground, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Linda,
So sorry for your inconvenience we will be sure to review this with all of our workampers. They arrive early in the season and it takes a few weeks for everyone to learn the sites. Please accept our apology and we appreciate your feedback we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We can't say enough about our stay at Moonshine Creek. From my many calls to the front desk, to the impeccably maintained campground, everything was wonderful. We were going to arrive late and one of the staff (Dana) even offered her cell phone number in case we got lost or had trouble finding our camping cabin. That was really thoughtful! I wish I could remember everyone's names because each one was wonderful. We stayed in a camping cabin and couldn't have been happier - all the joys of camping without a tent. I was mostly impressed with how clean everything is. Moonshine Creek is, after all, a campground with dirt and trees and bugs, but somehow the restrooms, cabins and bathhouses were spotless. The staff really takes a lot of pride in maintaining the place. If you look at the campground map, you'll notice there are train tracks that run behind the campground. I was concerned about that but we only saw the train twice and it was during the day. The creek is loud and provides the best sleep ever. The location can't be beat - just a half hour from Asheville, and only a few miles to the Blue Ridge Parkway. There's a brand new WalMart in Waynesville just 10 minutes away if you need supplies. I'm sure it's busy there during the summer but for our stay (the weekend before Memorial Day), it was perfect. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We loved our camping cabin but every site (RV, tent, cabin) is a wonderful location. I'm sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moonshine Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonshine Creek Campground

Address: 2486 Dark Ridge Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Sylva
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Sylva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool, Quiet, Secluded Back To Nature Camping with Rushing Stream and Trout Fishing. Beautiful setting just off the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Great Smoky Mountains. FHU RV sites, Tent sites and Cabins. Camp Store, Heated Bathhouse, Fire Rings, Cable TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonshine Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moonshine Creek Campground to your Saves list