We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant

Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant
506 West Corbett Ave ( on Hwy 24 ), Swansboro, NC
910-326-8847
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Swansboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A rare find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

What the restaurant lacks in looks, it makes up for quality food and good service. Our waiter was a little quirky, very friendly and had the courses running smoothly. I had the lobster stuffed ravioli which was one of the best seafood dishes I've had. Several large ravioli sat on a delicious tomato sauce and were interspersed with large seared scallops and shrimp. The scallops and shrimp were cooked so perfectly the scallops melted in the mouth while the shrimp burst with flavor at the first bite. The sweet potato muffins were delicious; I'm determined to try and replicate them at home. I will never leave this area again without first coming here for my seafood fix.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    36
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food,service, and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were a party of ten here on vacation with some finicky eaters. We sat upstairs which we thought was comfortable and the decor was perfect. Our server was completely on point and he was extremely tentative. The food was out of this world. We ordered an eray of foods. First we had the scallop nachos, crab cakes, and wings. Then it was on to seafood jambalaya, grilled chicken parm, lightly fried jumbo shrimp, rib eye steaks and even a burger and chicken fingers. Not to forget the awesome Mississippi mud pie! Oh and some pretty good beer brewed here in NC. This is definately a favorite and we will definately be back. Did I mention the seafood is local and everything is fresh.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Scallop Tortilla Appetizer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The seafood at this restaurant was some of the best I've ever eaten. The scallop-tortilla appetizer was awesome. The service was fast and professional. I would recommend making a reservation during the busy months - after 6 pm it gets busy. The building is a converted house and the interior wood work is beautiful. The tables on the first floor don't offer much of a view, not sure about the upstairs. The stairs to the second floor are steep (see above "converted house") and wouldn't be an option for anyone who is unsteady on their feet - I would recommend specifying your reservation for "first floor seating". HUGE plus - no inane, loud "background" music. You could actually talk with the people you came to dinner with (reason enough to eat here).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just OK; I thought it would be nicer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Near the river, but no real view from anywhere in the restaurant. They were out of mahimahi and andouille sauce on a Monday night. The stairs are very steep. One of the bathroom stalls was out of order, and they had removed the door. Service was pretty good. The food was just OK. I had the crab cakes and roasted vegetables. The vegetables were still a little hard. My husband enjoyed his steak, but he disliked the mashed potatoes—too much garlic.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our first time to Swansboro NC and the Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant. We were not disappointed. Our waiter Dan was so friendly he made our visit a great experience. Now for the food. We started off with the Crab Dip, She Crab Soup and the Sweet Potato muffins all delicious!!
Two of us had the Shrimp platter (one broiled and one fried) both were very good. The rest of our family had the salmon special-loved it. I would highly recommend this place if you are staying anywhere in the area- we were staying in Emerald Isle worth the drive to Swansboro. Recommend you make a reservation as the place filled up quickly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Steak and Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.