We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Fincas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Las Fincas
921 Hwy 24, W Corbett Ave, Swansboro, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Swansboro
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Across from Sanders Ford
Newport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been to other Mexican Restaurants in our area and we have found that the food at Las Fincas is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. Don't go on the weekends unless you are ready to wait to be seated, to us it's worth the wait.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Really good food and the staff is very friendly. And you can't beat the price! Not sure when the folks in some of the other reviews had to wait on service; we have never waited more than a few minutes after our order was taken. You may have to wait for a table because it is so popular. The salsa is great. The entrees are plentiful and always hot! The decor is very festive. Good overall place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swan, usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicioso y barato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great food at a good price. We eat there alot. Try the "Mexican Chicken (Pollo Mexicano)"....its awesome.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I like going to Las Fincas. The owners are very nice and the food tastes great! We always have a wonderful time here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I keep thinking this restaurant will get better in relation to service, but I am afraid not. The food at this restaurant is sort of okay, certainly not like you would get in California. The food is mediocre and bland. Unfortunately, that appears to be just the way North Carolinian s like it. They do not like spicy food.
The bigger issue is service. The owner/receptionist is a very nice lady but lord help us, the wait staff is horrible. They give off the vibe that they hate what they are doing and wish they weren't there. Once you get your food, you are lucky to see your waiter again. When we left this evening, I had to bring my plate to the cashier to get a to-go box, ask for the check and pay. This is standard for the restaurant. I must say the bathrooms are clean. I would say if you are in the area and must have Mexican, go. Perhaps the food at another restaurant? Don't go to this restaurant with expectations of a great meal. You will be disappointed. By the way, this is my 4th time eating at this place. I keep thinkng it will get better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Fincas also viewed

 
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Las Fincas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Fincas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.