We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bartenders!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Bar and Grill

Hula's Bar and Grill
2107 N. New River Dr., Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
+(1)9103280045
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, Winery, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome bartenders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I was in there Memorial Day weekend and me and a group of my girlfriends went in. The little girl on beer bar was super sweet. The bartenders behind the main bar were crazy busy. The short haired brunette did everything she could to make sure we were taken care of. My girlfriends and I will definetly be back. Hulas we love you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went in for a drink and some late night grub. The place is just some random room nothing fancy for sure. That didn't bother me as much as being ignored. Our short haired brunette bartender ignored us for a good twenty minutes. Sure the bar had a few customers but not terribly busy. Yet all the gentlemen at the bar seemed to have a full beer at all times. Finally got our order in and it took another 15 mins to get our drinks. They were ok drinks I guess. Took another 25 or 30 to get our fried food which was just okay. And to top things off she charged us more for the drinks than was listed on the menu. There are much better places on the island to et and drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place is the best dive bar ever......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Love this place. No it is far from fancy or upscale but it is super fun. I did not eat here I just had a few drinks and a blast. The owner is as sweet as the tea down south. I give it a 10+++++

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I was told about going to this place and I'm glad I did. The place had a great a vibe and the staff was very friendly. The DJ went out of her way to play requested songs. I was told from a local the bugers were to died for and boy they were, just remember to order the homefries with the meal. I went back the next night. If your looking for good food great drink prices and a friendly staff this is your place. WILL Be Back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dance music, food & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Love Hula's! Best cheeseburger on the island! Always great music to dance to & a nice, varied crowd. Bartenders are super cool and the Owner is so friendly. He offered plenty of Topsail information! We had a great time at Hula's while on our most recent, mini vacation tp TI. Will DEFINITELY go back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Bar and Grill also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Hula's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.