We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bar Worth Visiting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar

Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar
101 Roland Ave, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC
910-328-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 46 restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ocean City, Md
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Beach Bar Worth Visiting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Buddy's is a basic, no frills, beach bar with one heck of a view. We enjoyed relaxing while watching boats on the ocean, folks on the beach, and fishermen on the nearby pier. The drinks were very good. The food was delicious. The facility is basic but interesting. The decks are the place to hang out if the weather is good. The service was excellent. The prices were reasonable. This is a place worth visiting when in the area. We stop each time we visit Surf City.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

27% Recommend
    10
    15
    21
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We are visiting from out of town, our friends who are local recommended this place, Since this is an "oyster bar" we were really looking forward to having some good oysters Unfortunately it was the worse oysters we ever had. We ordered one dozen. I was expecting raw on half shell, but got steamed, still in shell with tiny tasteless, chewy, rubbery oysters inside. One shell was empty.When we mentioned it to server, she said she would tell manager. Her response was "we can't x-ray all the oysters, they are what they are". On top of that, all the coating on seafood has MSG. Enough said...The server Kim was very nice, but it was her last day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Had great drinks with a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Right on the beach, had great drinks, great service and got to watch the local surfers do their thing! Cool collection of dollar bills left by patrons, worth going!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So disappointed!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by to have a night cap by the beach. What a cool bar. Two decks beachside. Ordered a drink from a preoccupied bartender (there we only two other people at the bar). Went to a table by the beach only to have the most unwanted guests ever. Cockroaches. Huge cockroaches.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There is a reason you are on the bottom of the list!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

You don't care about your customer's..........slow service and a bar staff that has one speed....slow!!! Most business that are managed like this fail.....why is this one still open?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.