We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbeque Ribs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Grille

Thai Grille
13500 Nc Highway 50, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
(910) 329-4424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surf City, NC
1 review
“Barbeque Ribs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had the Barbeque Ribs the other night - advertized as falling off the bone Barbeque Ribs - it was served with a Steak Knife and was hard to get off the bone even with a sharp knife ? Definetly not the place to get Barbeque Ribs - we will not be going back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Thai Grille is now Lotus Thai Grille”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have dined at the Thai Grille, now called Lotus Thai Grille, for years. We love the appetizers and sometimes sit at the bar and make an evening of having several appetizers to share instead of entrees. It's hard to go wrong with any of the choices, especially the crab wontons, crabcakes, and scallops. We also like the strip steak, Thai fried rice, and pad thai. The only reason we have not marked this with five stars is that frequently the owner's family is there and they tend to take over either the bar area or the main room, making it less pleasant for paying customers. The owner needs to make eye contact with customers and smile more. He seems very conscientious and is a hard worker; I think sometimes it is so busy he gets harried and perhaps does not have time to look up and greet people at the bar. We keep returning for the good food, though. It's one of our favorite places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

A little hard to find but worth the effort. Good food at Topsail Beach without breaking the wallet. Huge servings, think about sharing a meal. I recommend the Sesame Chicken.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I eat here every couple of months. We have never been disappointed! Restaurant is clean, food is yummy and staff is friendly. Last weekend I ordered the Thai Fried Rice with Shrimp! Delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After two tasty Thai soups, we ate appetizers and the Thai Style wings (8 count) with soy garlic butter, the crab wontons (6), and the rice paper spring rolls (3) were excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Grille also viewed

 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Thai Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.