We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising value, quality, and appeal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Grille

Thai Grille
13500 Nc Highway 50, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
(910) 329-4424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprising value, quality, and appeal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife, 16 year old, and I visited Thai Grill at the recommendation of a Topsail Island local, who said it was on her top 3 list. I was a little hesitant that the menu might be too ethnic to suit my family, but my wife enjoyed her coconut milk chicken, and the shrimp sandwich worked for my son. He also got the crab "cakes", which are really balls.....can't really recommend them compared with others locally, but that was the only downside. I got a shrimp/crab stirfry that was tasty and large. My wife did well to eat 1/2 of her lunch portion, waiter told us the dinner portions are ridiculous. Prices are $10-17 for dinner, pretty awesome for the amount served. The restaurant is well furnished, comfortable, and bigger than it looks from the outside. My only regret is not finding Thai Grille earlier in my stay at Topsail Island!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Yummy and very clean---Delicious and fun treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a restaurant that is great for those times when you dont want to empty your wallet
but want to feel like you have gone somewhere special. I thought their calamari was good, but not great - the sides on the other hand were exceptional. Items such as sweet potatoes made with coconut milk and items that are more healthy but not lacking on great taste.
My Son ordered their Duck and it was perfection. Salads are very good also. I have been here several times and never disappointed- many choices to make everyone happy.
Very calming and quiet restaurant. I loved it every time. Good place to go for lunch with a best buddy. Charming but not so elegant you cant take children. Perfect!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Thai flavors with confidence ... for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Tired of the usual Southern options, we opted to pop into Thai Grille to satisfy a craving for sweet, hot, spicy, and tangy.

Located in an unassuming strip mall near a Chinese buffet, Thail Grille's atmosphere is intimate, earthy, beachy, and adorned with various Asian, not necessarily Thai, accents. The seating arrangement is comfy but provides adequate space for intimacy.

The menu is quite extensive with various seafood and Asian offerings, to include a few Thai specialties like Beef and Basil, Pad Thai, and Pork and Ginger. We opted for the Pad Thai with tofu and Chicken and Coconut Rice which were both generous portions - served family-style, like most Asian restaurants - and accompanied by a pair of thai teas (topped with a heaping portion of whipped cream). The Pad Thai was well put together, although could have been spicier as we did ask for the dish to be "Thai hot". This was quickly rectified by the attentive waiter who provided chopped, green thai chilies on the side. The chicken and coconut rice was a bit more one-dimensional in texture and flavor and also could have been spicier.

We did not get a chance to check out the bar area, but it is tucked away from the tables and appears to be well-stocked for a few rounds with friends.

Thai Grille is a much needed and diverse addition to the area. We just hope that Thai Grille emphasizes its Thai authenticity and not water-down to the bland palette of the area. Thai food should be sweet, hot, spicy, and tangy.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Great food, you get a ton, good service, full bar....topsail's has needed this!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food, big portions, fabulous soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Something different for our area; nice for a change. The portions of Thai entrees are enough for 2 people unless you are a really big eater. Most soups are very tasty. For folks who do not care for Thai food, there are other good choices. The french fries are especially crispy and good. Desserts are worth the splurge as well.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Grille also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Thai Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.