We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced and way over rated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quatermasters Restaurant and Tavern

Quatermasters Restaurant and Tavern
13741 NC Hwy 50 / Roland Ave, Suite E, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
+1 910-329-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 45 Restaurants in Surf City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“over priced and way over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were told we would have a 30 min wate it turned into a 55 min wate . The wate staff and buss boys were playing in the hall to the kitchen. The shrimp I paid $17.99 for was only seasond with butter and the veggies were bland. Truly a dissapointment...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    15
    7
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time here! Not rude at all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I read some reviews about rude hostess and owner, but we experienced none of that. The food was fantastic. We had crab dip, stuffed mushrooms, salmon, a fish taco, the filet, a burger, and the fried seafood platter. Everything was perfect. There was a small problem, though, but well-handled. They forgot to fire one of the entrees in our party of 10, but they came out and apologized, offered him a free salad or drink while he waited (which he turned down) and then after serving the entree 5 minutes later, they took it off the bill without us asking. Just goes to show a little bit of patience and understanding can lead to good times by all. Oh and the salads were great too, and the atmosphere is nice and beachy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never made it past the rude hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

30 minutes after our reservation time, we asked the hostess when our party of 10 can be seated. Among one of her many rude comments was her suggestion that we were welcome to ask the party at the table planned for us, when they would be leaving. Really? Our group of 10 walked out. We went to the Lotus Thai Grill and had a GREAT meal. So many better choices than Quartermasters in Topsail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never made it past the rude hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

30 minutes after our reservation time, we asked the hostess when our party of 10 can be seated. Among one of her many rude comments was her suggestion that we were welcome to ask the party at athe table planned for us, when they would be leaving. Really? Our group of 10 walked out. We went to the Lotus Thai Grill and had a GREAT meal. So many better choices than Quartermasters in Topsail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hayne, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stuffed flounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We started with the crab dip which was served with a plate FULL of bread. I could actually see pieces of crab meat in the dip and it was cooked to perfection. This appetizer is more than enough for two people. We both decided on the stuffed flounder, stuffed baked potato, and the asparagus. I got the full flounder and my wife the half portion. Everything was cooked to perfection. The flounder was tender, cooked in a wine sauce, and there weren't any bones. The stuffed potato was great and the asparagus was cooked just enough to make it slightly crunchy. The restaurant itself is roomy and there is plenty of space between the tables. We will definitely return when we are in the mood for seafood!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quatermasters Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Quatermasters Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quatermasters Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.