We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every time we go to Nikki's we love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi

Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi
124 N. New River Drive, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
910-328-1121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Every time we go to Nikki's we love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have gone here a bunch and we just love it. The sushi is always amazing and fresh. The portions are big and we think it's priced pretty fair. The angel hair roll is our fav. The staff might be a little stand off-ish, but we don't go there for the service or atmosphere; we keep going there because it's consistently well made food at a good price. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good for carryout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went here midweek in July, and the food was awesome. We ate in. my husband got the orange tofu, and it was a huge portion. I ordered 2 sushi rolls and they were both delicious. When we came in 2008, this location must not have existed, and I ate sushi from the Independence Mall location. Being vegetarians, this is a most welcome addition to a decidedly vegetarian unfriendly area. The service isn't awesome, but the food is worth it, especially if you order takeout.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We got some amazing sushi from here! Would suggest if you are wanting sushi while your at the beach to try Nikkis..

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, Topsail Island, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carry out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The food is good and it is fast for carryout. There is a large dining room but we have not eaten in the restaurant, only carried out.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc coast
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I've been here many times and it seem that it gets worse each time. The last time was in February. My wife had gone out of town and I decided to give them one more try, bad decision.

It was in the middle of the week so I knew they wouldn't be very busy. I ordered the same meal that I usually eat there. Starting with the hot and sour soup which seemed watered down and barely warm, let alone hot. Then the crab Rangoon which was definitely cold in the middle. By the time I got the main course I was so mad I didn't even try it. Just paid my bill and left.

Go to the Thai Grill instead, you won't be dissapointed there!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.