We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carry out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi

Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi
124 N. New River Drive, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
910-328-1121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 46 restaurants in Surf City
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Surf City, Topsail Island, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carry out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The food is good and it is fast for carryout. There is a large dining room but we have not eaten in the restaurant, only carried out.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    7
    16
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nc coast
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I've been here many times and it seem that it gets worse each time. The last time was in February. My wife had gone out of town and I decided to give them one more try, bad decision.

It was in the middle of the week so I knew they wouldn't be very busy. I ordered the same meal that I usually eat there. Starting with the hot and sour soup which seemed watered down and barely warm, let alone hot. Then the crab Rangoon which was definitely cold in the middle. By the time I got the main course I was so mad I didn't even try it. Just paid my bill and left.

Go to the Thai Grill instead, you won't be dissapointed there!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We visit each year we visit Topsail! They offer table and bar service and the food is amazing! Definitely don't miss this place if you like sushi!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“So happy to have this selection on the Island. Enough left overs for lunch the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Much nicer on the inside than out. Plenty of white meat selections for those of us who dont like dark meat Chinese. We have eaten here many times but only for the lunch value meals when it came to getting a really reasonable price. The dinner selection is not super expensive but does not include some "free extras" sushi is more expensive than going to a buffet and to us not worth the price. They also have miso soup which is hard to find in this area.
WE have never had a problem with service but do not expect a great deal of warmth at this price. We are seated,served and taken care of, never a attitude but a feeling of doing a job at a fast pace and well. Much much better than mall food Chinese and a typical large selection from the menu. Best bet for us is to all order something different and mix. They can handle a large group of people who want to sit together at one table or just one. I really like Nikkis and hate mall type Chinese-good cuts and as being compared to the Thai restaurant- two totally different places. One is more white table cloth with a flair towards formal - non traditional choices and smaller portions(plenty)
i.e. a perfect choice for ladies lunch and the other family dinner or a place to hang with friends who may be a tad rowdier during the season.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry Nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold Food, "Don't Bother Me attitude from Staff, Go to Thai Restaurant instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Sorry experience from the get go. Waitress/ hostess seemed annoyed we came in to patronize their business. Threw menus down and finally took order.Ordered Chinese Food and when it came it was cold! We were there on a Sunday night. It was not busy only 2 other tables seated. Waitress
never came back to ask how food was. Felt sick the next day so don't know if food is recycled or poorly stored. Other reviews say best restaurant in 30 miles. There aren't any
other sit down chinese restaurants within 30 miles. Will never go back and I am sure they
won't care.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikki's Fresh Gourmet & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.