We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City eating at the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro at Just Baked

The Bistro at Just Baked
205 South Topsail Drive, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
910 328 2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bistro at Just Baked is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Surf City
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: High Point Dr.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“City eating at the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place would give Raleigh a run for their money. Wonderful steaks were had by three of us and I enjoyed a great shrimp and risotto. Gluten Free. A great surprise to see so much on the menu that could be GF if you ask. The mashed potatoes were great I heard from my husband. Although vegetables were tasty, would have liked more variety in the mixed grill.
Love,love the homemade potatoe chips and great horseradish sauce and two others sauces.
Service was more than adequate. Knowledgeable and articulate.
Will definitely return. So glad that they are open off season. Nice bar scene too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    22
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our party of two couples ate dinner at The Bistro and even though we had high expectations based on reviews, we were still suprised that the quality of food could be found in a small beach town during the off season. Yes, it's pricey but no one felt that we didn't get good value. The service was exceptional too. We all ordered different menu items along with dessert and everyone's meal was great. Two of the meals "were the best ever" (rib eye steak and shrimp & grits). The only issue we had in our party was that the wood chairs were too hard and uncomfortable. We will be dining at The Bistro everytime we get the opportunity to visit Topsail Island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worthy of a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We dined on a Friday evening early, 6:30, reservation highly recommended since the place only has about a dozen tables. The food was very good and the ambiance was perfect and wine list more than adequate. The wait staff was very attentive, but not bothersome or rushing you through your meal. The noise level did increase as more customers arrived for later dining. This was our third visit to the Bistro and we have always been pleased with the meals. Highly recommend the low country eggroll as an appetizer, and both the shrimp and grits, and pan seared scallops for entrees and save some room for dessert and coffee, it’s worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“TOP OF THE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This one is delish! We went there without a reservation(2) had about a 15 minute table wait. So we had a cool refreshing beverage in the bar area. We were notified promptly about the table being ready and had the option to transfer the beverage tab or pay. The "special" drink of the evening which my partner ordered was not satisfactory to taste. It was not consumed and removed, replaced with another one of choice. Our server was very knowledgeable about each of the evenings special dishes, soups and the menu. We quickly received our homemade seafood bisque and fresh salad with homemade dressing. Then our entrees came exactly on time without hesitation as she flowed so well in the small establishment serving a number of patrons. I think for freshness, quality and service I would pick this again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique Menu...Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a MUST DO whenever you are at Surf City, NC. The menu, though not extensive, delivers in BIG ways... Reservations highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Just Baked also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to The Bistro at Just Baked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro at Just Baked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.