We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really dirty condo. Pool & grounds well kept.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Capriani

Villa Capriani
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Capriani
1950 NC Highway 172, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28460   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really dirty condo. Pool & grounds well kept.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We just came back today from Villa Capriani. We stayed in unit 210-B. It was horribly dirty. We complained with Treasure Realty and they send someone who did nothing!!!
We finally decided to buy clorox, lysol and commet and do it ourselves. The shower looked like it wasn't cleaned in years, black mold and lime. The windows were so dirty that you could not see through them. The microwave was soooo dirty. Dirt inside the drawers. The carpet .... what can I tell you about the carpet, just imagine it. The list goes on and on. We did a good job cleaning it so, the people arriving after us would not be as unlucky as we were.
The only possitive thing we have to say about Villa Capriani is that the pools and grounds were well kept. The beach is nice and never crawded and you can leave your chears and stuff at the beach at night and nobody will touch it.
I would go back to a different unit if I could be sure that it will be clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We've been going to Villa Cap for five years and will return in July of this year, too. We love the multiple pools. The kiddy pool is great for the real little ones. Plus, there are two waterfall pools (3-4 feet deep) and a HUGE pool with a tiki bar. This entire part of the island is uncluttered and quiet. If you're young and looking to party, you may want to avoid N. Topsail, but if you're looking for the perfect beach vacation for a family or for an older couple, Villa Cap is where you want to be.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have stayed at the Villa Capriani the past two years and have really enjoyed both of our stays. We travel with our two boys (10 and 5) and this is a great place to just enjoy a beach with family without all of the amusement park like atmosphere of commercialized beach areas. The resort has three pools and our boys especially enjoyed the waterfall pool. All three of the pools were never crowded and were open until 10:00 p.m. each night. The condos are all privately owned and each is decorated differently so there is the chance that you may get one that is not taken care of well. Both times we have stayed in a two bedroom (114A and 109B). We all liked the accomadations of both of these condos and would recommend. Almost all have views of the ocean, however, the first floor condos have limited views because of the dunes but we like them because we only have one floor to go to get to the beach and the pools. There are elevators in the resort to access all of the floors.

In addition, the resort has a DJ and dancing on Saturdays and Wednesdays and a poolside bar that is open daily. There is a restaurant on site though we have never eaten there as we like to go out each night for dinner. Lastly, the resort has two tennis courts and is close to a nice little local park.

  • Liked — Not crowded, beach, pools, views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We recently stayed at the Villa Capriani unit 104 (Aug 17th-21st) a one bedroom unit was in very nice condition and the view wasn't bad being in the back. We had a beautiful sunset every night over the bay. . The weather was perfect, sunny, warm with a nice breeze. However, the last day on the beach Wednesday was pretty windy due to the tropical storm in Florida & surf was getting rough. So we spent that day by the pool which was beautiful. We ate at Ricks restaurant three times because the food was so good. Clean atmosphere and excellent service. One night we ate at Crabby Mikes which was not so good compared to Ricks. We went to the Turtle Talk which in the paper said photo opps, so we thought they would have actual turtles but it was just a turtle shell that kids could put on to take a pic. Wish we just went to the turtle hospital . Kind of a kid talk. We left during the end when they started with raccoon & turtle puppets talking to each other. I will submit photos later. Nice trip and our first visit to NC beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from our second visit to Topsail and Villa Capriani and are happy to report we are just as thrilled about both as we were 6 years ago. Villa Capriani is located in North Topsail, where there are mainly a few condo complexes and homes. You will not find miniature golf, shopping, etc. For that you'll need to go back to the mainland (just a few minutes) or to Surf City, just south of North Topsail. The best part of Topsail is NO TRAFFIC! We have vacationed at the Outer Banks for several years and can no longer tolerate the crowds and traffic. Topsail is what the Outer Banks used to be! Villa Capriani is wonderful. There are several types of condos available. Most are privately owned so you will need to contact realty companies (we went through Treasure Realty). They range from one, two, three and four bedrooms with many floor plans. See Treasure's website to see the various plans. We had a 3 bedroom oceanfront unit (113-A). While advertised as a "ocean front" unit with a photo showing the entire beach and ocean, the reality is that first floor units now only see the ocean (no beach) as the dunes were replenished. Some units show current photos, but some still show the old photos of the entire beach. We loved this condo as there were also 3 bathrooms and there were 3 couples. One is a hall bath, the other two are ensuite as there are two masters. The largest master is a "lock out" unit. There is a common entry, but this bedroom can be completely private as there is a kitchenette with fridge and sink (no microwave in this unit). There is also a door from this bedroom that opens to the hallway where the other two bedrooms are. The other master and bedroom have access to the deck as well as from the living room. There is a fully equiped kitchen, large dining table and nice living room area with the door to the deck and 2 windows. The first floor is nice as you can access the pool and beach by just walking down one floor. There is an elevator, too. The grounds of the Villa are beautiful. There are 3 pools, one used to be the largest complex pool on the east coast. The other two are smaller with water falls and one with a grotto. There are palm trees (another plus to being a little further south) and vegetation everywhere that is meticulously maintained. The main pool has a pool bar and there is also a restaurant (Bella Luna) that serves lunch and dinner. We had dinner and it was wonderful, althought a little expensive ($68 for two with entrees, cup (large) of soup, split salad and no drinks). You must have pool passes ($5 deposit each returned at the end of your visit) and they are checked. They also have a DJ a few nights a week over the weekends with music at night and the pools are open for night swimming. We had beautiful weather and the pools were always in use, but never crowded. The beaches will probably need to be relcaimed soon as during high tide, it is small. During low tide, it is very wide. However, we were never crowded. There is a Food Lion across the bridge only minutes away as well as other stores/shops for necessities. We love Topsail and Villa Capriani and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Capriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capriani

Address: 1950 NC Highway 172, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28460
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Surf City
Also Known As:
Villa Capriani Hotel Surf City
Villa Capriani Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Capriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Capriani to your Saves list