We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not what I think of as a resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunset Beach
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely not what I think of as a resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at one of the villas. As noted in other reviews the furnishings are outdated, beds were very soft with minimal support, supposed to have wi-fi but could not connect, towels were pitiful. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaC855, Assistant General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please know that we have recently announced a plan, in conjunction with our property owners, to upgrade our guest accommodations. Upgrades are already underway, and will continue into the near future, Sea Trail Resort guests will enjoy new carpeting, flat screen TV’s, complimentary WIFI, new linens, and more. Providing a superior guest experience is our #1 priority. Our goal is to do everything possible to ensure that your experience at Sea Trail Resort exceeds your expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit personally with you. You can reach me via email at dconnelly@seatrail.com or via telephone at 888-321-9048. We do hope you decide to return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    26
    27
    24
See reviews for
54
36
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sea Trail Resort is a beautiful and very large property with several golf courses, condos, and homes within the community. We saw several runners since it is a perfect and beautiful place to run. Our room was a one bedroom villa on the 9th hole of the golf course. The room was nice and a lot more spacious than a hotel room, with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, stove, and a screened in porch overlooking the golf course. It was clean and felt like a home away from home. We went to the Myrtle Beach outlet malls which were about a 25 minute drive. We ate at the Boundary House Restaurant, only about 3 minutes from the resort and has fantastic food and is near the waterway. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

stayed at river creek 601all things very outdated stove only had 2 burners that worked,tv's 80 vintage at best dvd player did not work, no wifi, recliner broke ,lack of bowls dishes, pans that should have been trashed,rusty utensils,shower did not drain well. In mini suite mold on shower curtain as well as bad beds no paper towels.dish soap,sponge to clean up or scrub with,drying rack for dishes,lack of cooking utensils and hangers. would have to see a much better condo to ever stay again. Came highly recommended very disappointed. cannot believe resort dosent check on owners condo condition before renting

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaC855, Assistant General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We appreciate the fact that you’ve taken your valuable time to provide comments regarding your recent stay at Sea Trail Resort, and apologize that your experience at River Creek was disappointing.

We hear you. Please know that we have recently announced a plan, in conjunction with our property owners, to upgrade our guest accommodations. In the near future, Sea Trail Resort guests will enjoy new carpeting, flat screen TV’s, complimentary WIFI, new linens, and more. Providing a superior guest experience is our #1 priority. Our goal is to do everything possible to ensure that your experience at Sea Trail Resort exceeds your expectations. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Beach hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in a "villa". Price was reasonable. It was reasonably clean and reasonably well-maintained, but a little shabby. Housekeeping service was unpredictable. The villa was attractively decorated. We stayed three nights. The first day housekeeping emptied the trash, provided no additional coffee, didn't make the bed, but provided new towels. The second day they made the bed, provided no towels, but provided additional coffee. The bed was horrible. It was a 1980's style bed that was two feet off the floor and the bottom sheet was a flat sheet instead of fitted. We wrestled with the sheets all night, every night. The televisions were also 1980's. There was no wi-fi which was a real problem for us. We were there on business and had to go to the convention center which was a mile away to use our laptops. The resort is very pretty and well-maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in the economy room for a long weekend trip. Thought I was getting a great deal, but when I saw the room I understood why it was so cheap. The room was a little bigger than a walk in closet, the two twin beds were low quality, it was slightly dirty, no WIFI at the rooms, and the TV was about as big as a laptop screen and still cut in and out. The resort offers surprisingly little, the front desk summed it up well basically by telling us that they have golf and a bar. That is a slight exaggeration as there is a weight room with very dated equipment and no matching dumbbells and an outdoor and indoor pool that were actually pretty nice. We went for breakfast at the restaurant and got about what we expected for a $10 buffet. Of note though, right before we left we realized there was a dead cockroach next to us the entire time... the staff apparently isn't the best about cleaning the place. It was only $94 per night on a peak weekend booked a few days prior in a high demand beach area, and I still felt like I was ripped off after seeing the room. Also, this is North of Myrtle Beach, not in 'North Myrtle beach'. There is a difference, it takes about 20 minutes to get to North Myrtle beach from this resort, Sunset beach is very close but doesn't offer all the attractions.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good room, get one at a different resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hot tubs in the Village Center are beyond nasty. Could not believe people actually got in them. Most of the chairs around the pool have mold all over them. An hour or two with a bucket of Clorox and water would clear that up, but seems ridiculous that customers have to pint these things out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

for the money, this place is perfect. we had a blast. rooms were clean, people were nice, walls were thick, close to the beach, close the calabash, we could not have imagined a better last minute trip to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Address: 75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Convention Center is home to 48,000 square feet of meeting and function space, three signature golf courses, a fitness center and gym, luxurious accommodations from guest rooms to 4 bedroom villas, swimming pools and more! Less than two miles from the beautiful sugar sands of Sunset Beach. Be sure to visit the on-site Magnolias Fine Food & Spirits or Brassies Lounge for breakfast and lunch, or one of the two full-service clubhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Trail Golf Hotel Sunset Beach
Sea Trail Golf Resort And Conference Center
Sea Trail Resort
Sea Trail Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.