We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sunset Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The receptionist was nice but that's where it ended. I checked in early because the room was unoccupied the night before. My 5 year old daughter went straight to the bathroom and started screaming. There was a 2" roach in the floor crawling around. We decided to order pizza, as I'm laying on the bed I hear a knock and before I could take 2 steps housekeeping comes barging into our room. Unannounced! I'm a single mother and it completely freaked me out. I called the front desk and they sent her supervisor to apologize. Doesn't make it any better. By the time we were ready for bed I was trying to dry our towels from a day at the beach. I opened a drawer on the dresser and I find another roach! I couldn't believe that a place that cost the same amount as an ocean front resort that I stayed at the next night was turning into the worst place I have ever stayed. Don't stay here unless you don't mind intruders in your room. All kinds!

Room Tip: I don't recommend any of there rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, Front Office Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your negative experience at our resort. Your safety and comfort are of the utmost importance to us. Together with property maintenance, we work hard to ensure our service consistently exceeds your expectations. When this is not the case, we do our best to rectify the situation to your satisfaction. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with our usual high standards for an outstanding vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    22
    25
    24
See reviews for
48
33
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we booked 1 night due to myrtle beach being sold out with no vacancies. The registration office is hard to find especially at night, bad lighting and its a huge resort with many houses and villas along winding the golf course. The address is not the REAL address of the place where you check in so our gps didn't help much and we had four other couples cruising along with us to try and find the place. calling the front desk kept going to voice mail; that should have been our first clue this was not going well, then we had a mini suite, which looked like a small double motel room, key didn't work had to drive back down and around to get another, then if you want to use the pool or jacuzzi, exercise room you have to take your pass and drive to it. Limited parking because you are not allowed to park in front of the garages for the downstairs. the room had issues very outdated the blinds were broken, the remote didn't work and we had to reconnect our own tv since it had been used previously to the vcr. called for pillows, nope didn't get any, no filters for coffee, and too pricey for what you get will never stay there again or book with orbitz since lately I have been mislead twice by them the front desk ignored our complaints and sadly I have better experiences at a motel 6. the golf courses are nice but that was about the only thing good about the whole place. will never stay there again

Room Tip: dont waste your money,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Input such as yours is taken into serious consideration when making adjustments to our property that will best serve our guests. We are working with our owners to ensure the quality of all units meet the demands of our visitors. We are sorry for the disappointment you experienced during your brief visit and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Beach hotels

Statesville, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed for three nights in a one room villa in the Royale Palms section of the resort. First of all, this property is absolutely huge. Multiple golf courses are surrounded throughout by condos, suites, and villas. Most villas seem to be individually owned. Unfortunately, my review is infulenced by the fact that I stayed in a villa that has been neglected over the past decade. I say decade only because of the outdated color schemes and electronics in the apartment. Normally my reviews aren't influenced by such things, but the very small televisions in the bedroom and living area were both non-flat screen and made smaller by the required letterbox format. To further age the villa, the TV in the living room was still attached to a VCR.

The maintenance of the villa came into question as the week went on. Each day, the bed was made--but each day my towels were not replaced and I had to call to get more delivered. Out of the five lamps in the villa, only two actually came equipped with lightbulbs (of which only one worked). Notes were left about this...but the notes were left unanswered.

Fortunately, this resort does have its high-spots in its convention facilities. This was a business trip, and the conference/banquet areas were newly updated or built with wonderful promenades and scenic areas abound. In addition, the food each night was five-star--something that isn't often seen at a convention resort!

Overall, the resort just needs some updating. I hold my review to an unfortunate room selection, as I was able to see in other rooms in other buildings as I visited colleagues and they were of *much* higher quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments help us improve on our weaknesses as well as our strengths. While your report indicates you were generally satisfied with your visit, it is important to us that every aspect of your stay exceeds your expectations. We continue to work with our owners to improve each unit, which includes updated furnishings and modern electronics. Whether you return on business or for pleasure, we hope you will visit our resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently spent a week at the Sea Trail Resort in Sunset Beach, NC for a conference. I stayed in a one bedroom villa in the Champions which has it's on pool and a very short walk to the conference center. It felt like a home away from home. If you're a golfer this would be this a great place to be! It's only a 5 minute drive to the beach and you have Myrtle Beach just 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and I spent a weekend at Sunset Beach and stayed at the Sea Trail Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom villa. It felt like a home away from home. Check in was easy and quick. The grounds were beautiful. If you are a golfer this would be the place to be! I will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked one room and they moved us to another room. It was nothing like the add that was shown. Ended up in a motel like room. NOT a condo that was book. Did not receive fresh towels on some days. We even called and ask for them 2 times and went by the desk one time still no towels. Great town ..sunset beach ....If we come back we will not stay at the SEA TRAIL ....

Room Tip: Pick some where else to stay . Leaking roof ....in the building we were in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are saddened to hear of your disappointing visit. While we make every effort to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations, there are times when we fall short of our goals. We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to show you how your comments help us improve the services we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were very excited by the pictures and our first impression. We were mistaken! The mini-suite is very mini. One room, tiny fridge, microwave was VERY out of date. Two coffee packs for entire week. Sheets were for a full bed and it was a king! (Top and bottom sheets) TV was small and too high up to be comfortable, oh, and had a VHS player.
I had to sleep on a blanket because sheets were so rough. Maids could not give us pillows; we had to call front desk. Two small pillows for bed. No fabric softener for towels or sheets! Believe me, they need it! Blinds kept messing up. Next door neighbors were loud!! Sound comes right through one door which is all that separates the mini-suite from the "villa". 1/2 of the outlets in room didn't work. One day we didn't get any new towels. We were told to wash our dirty dishes in bathroom sink and return to cupboar, with no soap! I can only guess they were clean when we used them! Bedspread looked dirty and so did top green blanket. We were as far from conference center as possible, and considering that we were attending a conference with over 300 attendees, we could have been clustered or within walking distance. We had to drive there, and to drive to pool and to get internet. No wifi in room. No room service during the day. No one made our bed, swept, or took trash. Killed huge roach in bathroom, too.
On the bright side, beach was beautiful, but not much parking. People were friendly, and area was lovely. Will probably come back but won't stay here. "Abandon hope, all ye who enter."

Room Tip: We have no idea about any other rooms. We do know that only ONE DOOR separates the mini-suite (what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Spread over 2200 acres, our resort has many accommodation types available to choose from in varying locations on the property. Please keep in mind, especially when visiting with such a large group, not all accommodations will be in close proximity to planned functions.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. Your feedback is essential to ensure necessary improvements, when possible, are made in all areas of our operations. Your comments have been shared with the staff so that such inconveniences may be eliminated in the future. We hope you will keep us in mind when returning to the area and allow us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Address: 75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Convention Center is home to 48,000 square feet of meeting and function space, three signature golf courses, a fitness center and gym, luxurious accommodations from guest rooms to 4 bedroom villas, swimming pools and more! Less than two miles from the beautiful sugar sands of Sunset Beach. Be sure to visit the on-site Magnolias Fine Food & Spirits or Brassies Lounge for breakfast and lunch, or one of the two full-service clubhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Trail Golf Resort And Conference Center
Sea Trail Golf Hotel Sunset Beach
Sea Trail Resort
Sea Trail Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.