We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Sea Trail!! It's our Vacation Destination Every Year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunset Beach
Depew, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We Love Sea Trail!! It's our Vacation Destination Every Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We absolutely LOVE Sea Trail Golf & Resort Conference Center! We have stayed two years in a row now and enjoy it very much. We rent a villa and apartment that are attached to house 9 of us and it is very well decorated, clean and has all that you need to cook in if you so desire. They have a very nice pool area on the property to unwind after a day at the beach. Easy check in, easy check out. Reservations are easy to make. Will stay here each year and we highly recomment it to anyone. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    26
    27
    25
See reviews for
55
37
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed at Sea Trail for 2 nights to enjoy Sunset Beach. Stayed in mini suite. Very adequate with microwave, coffee maker and full size fridge. Had dishes, glasses etc to be able to make breakfast. comfortable beds, and maid service daily. access to pool, workout room and hot tub.

will do it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I am part of a group of 12 golfers going to Myrtle Beach in October for a golf trip. We were working with the folks at Sea Trail and had pretty much decided on going with them. At the last minute (and fortunately before we finished booking) we were told that because of a change in the property management company, they could not book anything until September 30 !!! What the heck is going on??
I have stayed at this property in the past and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and very well appointed. The courses were fun to play and all 24 golfers had a great time.
Given that previous experience, I pushed for our group to go there. Now, unfortunately, we have to make other arrangements.

I sure hope they get things sorted out. I would hate to see this nice resort go under.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for five nights based on a recommendation from a friend who owns a unit. We had three adjoining small villas, but the adjoining door to the downstairs unit was locked and we were not provided a key. Required the kids to go outside and up the stairs to be with the rest of the family.
We were promised a King bed in the master suite, but only had two doubles, and very uncomfortable!
We were also told we could rent bikes for the kids, but after several phone calls, many unanswered voicemails, and never finding anyone at the community center where they were to be rented, we found out they don't rent bikes from a very rude employee.

Maid service was pitiful. They would show up very early in the morning, and do a haphazard job of just wiping down the bathroom and leaving too few towels and no wash cloths.
Carpets were dirty, and one of the units had a very sour smell to it.
Towels were not provided at the pool (as advertised), and the employee (once found) only remarked that they tend to lay a lot of people off, so he didn't know if there were towels available. So after a long day at the beach, and a trip to the pool, we were back in the room with our dirty towels still in the tub awaiting room service. When they finally came, they didn't leave enough towels. The kitchen had four plates and a small collection of flatware (and knives that couldn't cut a piece of toast).

No internet available at all.

If you want to stay at Sea Trails, I would recommend staying at a rent by owner unit as we have done before. Much cleaner rooms, better communication (even though the owner was in NY).

Even better, try Sunset Properties and just get a house on the beach. Less expensive and very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Beach hotels

Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for a week and found our 1 bedroom villa comfortable and attractive with a wonderful view of the golf course. Kitchen was well equipped with stove, microwave, refrig, and dishwasher. Clean bathroom with washer and dryer. Large bedroom with comfortable king sized bed. Spacious living area. Screened in porch to relax and enjoy morning breakfast while watching the golfers or an evening cocktail. The complex is huge and sometimes confusing to find your way around. Only negative was no wireless internet and I had problems connecting but Dir IT personally checked out the ethernet cable. Daily maid service was inconsistent as some maids did a more thorough job than others. A quiet, relaxing place. Close to Sunset Beach, 15 minutes from Ocean Isle Beach, less than 10 minutes to a variety of restaurants in Calabash. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Maintenance staff promptly repaired a leaking toilet flapper. We will consider staying at Sea Trail again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I went with my wife, mother and two small children. We upgraded to a Premier Mini Suite for around an extra $10 a night and it was well worth it. We had a package that included 4 nights lodging and 4 rounds of golf. I only used 2 of the 4 rounds as I was with the family. The golf was very nice as well as the activity center which included indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, sauna, and men's and women's locker rooms with showers. Very nice grounds and close to a shopping center with a major grocery store, restaurants, drug store, and only a 5 minute drive to be on Sunset Beach. The room had two double beds, small sofa, Tv with DVD/VCR player, kitchen table with chairs, full size refrigerator, bar sink, toaster and microwave. I can't speak on the standard or deluxe rooms, because of other reviews I chose to upgrade to the Premier. It seems that the newer updated units are labeled as Premier and the standard and deluxe are older and maybe not as nice. Very quiet at night, our rooms had fresh towels and bedding and the trash removed by the time we returned in the afternoon each day. I would have liked to have two queen beds instead of doubles but, I understand that the rooms are set-up for golfers with each having their own bed. The hours seemed to vary for the restaurant and clubhouse's, but I can understand the costs of running a property this size when the rooms are not fully booked. The staff were upfront with the hours when I asked upon check-in. We are planning on staying for a full week next year in a larger unit! I hope this review was helpful, and please before letting the negative reviews stop you from booking call and talk to the reservation department,... Glad I did!!!

Room Tip: Call and speak with the reservation department when booking for deals and questions... Splurge for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I am the one who posted this place sucks before. We were called by the management of the chain who apologized for the bad time we had before and he convinced us to give them another try. This time our room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The pool we had not been able to try before was wonderful, very nicely laid out. We were very impressed this time around and are planning to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center

Address: 75A Clubhouse Road, Sunset Beach, NC 28468
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Convention Center is home to 48,000 square feet of meeting and function space, three signature golf courses, a fitness center and gym, luxurious accommodations from mini suites to 4 bedroom villas, swimming pools and more! Less than two miles from the beautiful sugar sands of Sunset Beach. Be sure to visit the on-site Magnolias Fine Food & Spirits or Brassies Lounge for breakfast and lunch, or one of the two full-service clubhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Trail Golf Resort And Conference Center
Sea Trail Golf Hotel Sunset Beach
Sea Trail Resort
Sea Trail Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.