We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a nice course anymore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Golf Links

Oyster Bay Golf Links
6414 Highway 179, Lakeshore Drive, Sunset Beach, NC 28468
800-697-8372
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Sunset Beach
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not really a nice course anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The facility is dated and the course looks like they fired the maintenance staff. It was a good course when I played it for the first time seven years ago. We paid way too much to play here. Nice people on the staff make me give it a three rating, but really there are so many courses to choose from that you can feel comfortable skipping this one.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“$117 For An OK Breakfast & Lunch and Mediocre Playing Conditions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff was friendly but not as friendly as the ever-biting Mosquitos at Oyster Bay. The green-fees are $116 which would make one think you are playing a better course which would be manicured and better to ideal playing conditions. But that was not case at Oyster Bay, grass on the tee boxes was over 2" tall , the sand traps were hard packed and the over seeded fairways were wet and sparse. All in all , you could get the same type conditions with the meal & drink package for half the price at other area golf courses.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

7 of us played here on the 30th of March. The staff in the pro shop were nice and the golf course was fun. The greens were in really good shape and rolled true. Would definitely play this course again if the opportunity arises.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice course, enjoyed our round very much. I look forward to going back when the weather is a little better suited for golf. Pro shop staff went out of their way to overcome a challenge we had with our golf package, thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Love this course. They offer season specials including lunch. I would recommend making Tee times in advance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Bay Golf Links also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Bay Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Golf Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.