We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crabby Oddwaters

Crabby Oddwaters
310 Sunset Boulevard North, Sunset Beach, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Marcy, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Find, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were u down from the north to look at property and found this little gem near Sunset Beach. Nice location on the Intercoastal, decor is homey. Food was well prepared and plentiful with hush puppies you'll adore. Wife had blue crabs, a dozen, with corn, potatoes and sausage, a feast. Comes in a huge casserole. Shrimp and fried oysters were freakish and taste great! Our server was pleasant, peppy and very attentive. All in all a wonderfully tasty and relaxing experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    9
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Been going for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a favorite restaurant in our family. We love to get the steam pots! We went this evening, and had great service. Lauren was our waitress, and was attentive and our food came pretty quick. The hush puppies, served while you're waiting, were delicious. The hamburger (from the kids menu) was ok... but I opted to go for the shrimp and scallops this time instead of the steam pot, and did not regret it. Yummy! My husband got the steam pot, and was quite happy with it, and my mom got the the grouper and said it was good as well. My mom and I followed dinner with some of their key lime pie, which, while almost full, I couldn't stop eating till it was gone. Overall, a great experience at a restaurant I've been going to since I was young, but that I haven't been able to make it back to in about 5 years.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My family loves to eat here when we are at Sunset Beach. The stream pot is a good value and enough food for two. I love the shrimp burger as it tastes very close to bang bang shrimp. I order it without the roll so I get the full favor of the shrimp. Service is hit or miss depending on how busy the restaurant is

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You can find better food and service than what this place offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

There are so many good seafood restaurants in the Sunset Beach area but this is not one of them. Was if awful … no. If was just a very frustrating dining experience that had me scratching my head.

The four of us ordered two appetizers of Oysters Rockefeller. It was their special that night. Twenty minuets later only one order arrived. The waitress then informed us that the chef only had enough for one order. The waitress never told us or we would have made an additional appetizer selection. When we ordered our dinner we were told they were all out of the coleslaw that was included with our meals. We were not offered any substitute. One person we were with wanted to substitute French fries with a side salad and was charged $5. Just thought this was a little excessive.

The place is dated and is in need of a facelift. The waitress was nice but dining experience was not. We all thought the food was acceptable but the service left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT CRABCAKES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really great crabcakes with both a horseradish and a remoualde sauce
that where both outstanding and a great corn pudding

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Oddwaters also viewed

 

Been to Crabby Oddwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabby Oddwaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.