We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina Italian Grill

La Cucina Italian Grill
1780 Chanders Lane Unit 11, Behind Food Lion Supermarket, Sunset Beach, NC
9105799777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Calabash, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Consistently good Italian fare with attentive service in a nice atmosphere. One of the best Italian restaurants in the area and a local favorite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
1 review
“AmAziNg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just recently relocated to the Sunset Beach area & am VERY PLEASED to have such a FANTASTIC local Italian Restaurant! Today was our 2nd visit & we plan to eat here regularly! Food, service, EVERYTHING is AmAziNg! Highly recommend... Just read a previous review about the lasagna & eggplant parmigiana (which just happens to be exactly the two meals we just had) & have no idea how anyone could could say that are not worthy of a RaVe review! We LOVED them...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nestled in the town of Sunset Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this Italian restaurant nestled in the town of Sunset Beach. Tasty food, attentive service, and homemade desserts. Reservations suggested as seating is limited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good Italian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were visiting in the area and saw all the rave reviews for this restaurant so we tried it out on a Saturday evening. While it was busy, we got seated right away. I thought everything would be first-rate but all those great reviews ended up disappointing us. Yes, the homemade bread was warm and tasty but I thought they'd serve it with herbed olive oil. Then we both got Caesar salads that were just okay. My partner got lasagna which he said he enjoyed but both our dishes (eggplant parmigiana for me) weren't prepared as you'd expect. Instead of layers of sauce, meat/eggplant and cheese the sauce was only on the top and it was a marinara sauce. My partner liked the overall taste of his lasagna but mine was served with pasta and the marina sauce was runny, perhaps from undrained pasta?. Both our dishes were filling and had good texture but no didn't rate a rave review. We noticed the waiter Todd (who others were gushing about) was spending quite a bit of time charming some of the tables. Me thinks that may have colored others reviews. Todd was efficient and knowledgeable and could turn on the charm. All of the staff did well for that matter. So, go, enjoy it, but don't expect to be wowed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Very Best Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Absolute Best Italian Food and Restaurant at which I have ever eaten anywhere, even in larger cities. The Food is Excellent and very well prepared. Excellent Variety of Entrees, as well. Very cozy atmosphere, either for couples or family. Wait Staff is Excellent, especially a Gentleman named Johnny who did an Outstanding job and was very Knowledgeable in every regard. I would highly recommend this Restaurant to anyone who desires a wonderful Dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Italian Grill also viewed

 
Sunset Beach, NC
 

Been to La Cucina Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.