We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell On Earth! Believe All Of The Terrible Reviews Below!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Turnersburg Rd., Statesville, NC 28677   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hell On Earth! Believe All Of The Terrible Reviews Below!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

The 6 hours spent at the "Sleeze Inn" was the absolute worst experience of my life. We were invited to a wedding near Statesville and this was the suggested hotel by the wedding planner. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and other hotel review websites, we were VERY skeptical, but decided to stay possitive. We checked in at about 4pm on Friday with our air mattresses, sleeping bags, and extra sheets and towels in tow. One guest actually received and electric shock when trying to reconnect a smoke detector which was dangling from the ceiling. To our horror, when we returned later that evening from the rehersal dinner, we found our room completely infested with ants - covering our belongings, the beds, and all of the grooms-men's tuxedos for the following day. When we approached the staff, we were astonished by the LACK of effort and blatant rudeness which we encountered. On top of the ants and complete disrespect from the staff, there were stained sheets and towels which appeared to have not been washed, blood stains on the carpet and such things as the ironing board, the plumbing did not work in several rooms, hair and nail clippings on the blankets, and a strong stench of mold and mildew throughout the entire hotel. The 6 hours spent in this Hotel from Hell was the most horrifying hours of my life. We checked out at 3am and i would not return if my life depended on it. We were told that we were out of luck and should try to contact the hotel's owner on Monday - We are still unable to get in contact with anyone who can come up with ANY sort of explination for the utter disregard for customer service and complete filth. I am doing everything in my power to have this place shut down. DO NOT FOOL YOURSELF - THIS PLACE IS A NIGHTMARE!!!!!! ALL OF THE BAD REVIEWS ARE COMPLETELY TRUE!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — This Place Was An Absolute Nightmare!!!! NOTHING about our stay was even REMOTELY close to being good! Nastiest experience of my life.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
22
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

this was the worst hotel on our trip yet. it smelled terrible. the carpet in the halls and in the room was foul. the swimming pool water was cloudy...we were afraid to use it. the electronic key didn't actually open our door without much pushing and shoving and jiggling of the door knob. the bathroom wasn't clean. the sink faucet was not the proper fixture for the sink so it was impossible to properly rinse hands without pressing them up against the back of the sink bowl. the "morning medley" breakfast was dismal. the sound proofing was non-existant. ooooh i just couldn't wait to leave that dreadful place.

  • Liked — leaving it behind
  • Disliked — the nasty smell
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Got off exit late 10:30PM exhausted and pulled into motel. Asked for non-smoking room and was given one obviously a smoking room (ashtray). Too tired to ask for a room change. Room very disappointing.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

Date: March 16, 2007
Stay away from this motel. This was the worst place I have ever stayed. Our first room was a nonsmoking room as we are allergic to cigarette smoke and it was nasty...BED BUGS. I found a live bed bug on the under side of the bed spread. When I brought it to the front desk, she told me there were no more non smoking rooms available so we would have to take a smoking room but I could check it out first. The first smoking room (second one we were to stay in) believe it or not...had a bed bug in the same place the first room did...it was dead...but it was there just the same.....It was too late at night to look for another room or we would have just packed up and left...but the grandsons were tired...so we finally found another room which made us all sick from the smoke smell but at least had no bugs....but it was filthy...sticky stuff all over the door frames and doors, nasty toilet (had to get cleaner from maids room so I could clean it myselft so we could use it) no clock, no soap, smoke alarm blinked all night and started to beep early in the morning. Went for breakfast at 8:30...milk for cereal was sour, juice in machine was warm and tasted spoiled...so we went to Cracker Barrel to eat...Pool and exercise room were closed with nothing on their website to let us know (was one of the main reasons we stayed there because the grandsons wanted a pool). This is a terrible place...please stay away from it...halls, lobby, elevator...all nasty and full of trash on the floor...Stay away. Stay away...

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Mountain, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

Old motel, but room smelled fresh.

Only problems was with the beds. The sheets are not fitted and bunch up in the middle of the bed. Also the mattress pad was lumpy. I yanked it off after tucking in the sheets for the umpteenth time.

Staff was very nice. Continental breakfast was average. Coffee was good.

Probably would not stay again.

  • Liked — Room smelled fresh
  • Disliked — Lumpy mattress pads and non fitted sheets
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own bedding?
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

Room had a strong dose of mildew. The toilet made a large clanking sound every time you sat down on it or got up from the lid. TV screen was screwed up with distorted colors. The bath towels were one step up from sandpaper. The A/C unit barely kept the room cool enough. A/C unit leaked on the floor causing a nice puddle, hence the mildew and probably mold under the carpet. I advised the front desk of these defects upon checkout, but will definately not bother to come back and see if they've fixed anything.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

Kim is the best front desk clerk here she checked us in and was very fast at doing so and then we had breakfast the next morning and everything was great at this Sleep Inn..

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 125 Turnersburg Rd., Statesville, NC 28677
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Statesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Statesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.