We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, excellent location, but pleeease...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Masters Economy Inn

Masters Economy Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Masters Economy Inn to your Saves list
Masters Economy Inn
702 Sullivan Road, Statesville, NC 28677   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Ca.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great potential, excellent location, but pleeease...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed there a couple of nights when I arrived in North Carolina after a looooong drive from Las Vegas. Beds were great, nice flat screen TV (smallish) but the place practically begs for renovation. Loose wallpaper, rooms need paint and plaster, Ragged towels, and noisy A/C. Ice machine from the Stone Age. Better than the place next door with the algae-filled pool, but not by a whole lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    5
    10
See reviews for
2
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We always clip a coupon from the travel coupon books at the welcome centers when we are on the road. We seldom plan ahead, since we've gotten great deals on one night stays. Oh my! This is one time when I thought the motel MADE MONEY on the coupon deal. Other times, I thought we were the ones who made a good deal. This place was run down, had a nice warm comforter, but there was a hole in the duvet! The blanket was threatbare, too.The plaster is coming down in the shower as there is no vent fan. There was hair on the mirror! 2 thin towel sets, 1 tiny bar of soap, no shampoo or lotion. No coffee. The coupon said, "hot breakfast." Really? If you made your waffle, then it was hot. Otherwise, 2 kinds of cheap cereal without any fiber, a pitcher of orange juice, cheap powdered donuts, coffee. No other fruit, no protein of any sort! If I were employed there, I'd be ashamed to face the customers in the morning.

Please spend the extra $10 to $15 and get a clean comfortable room with a nice breakfast! Wish I had!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For starters I got my rooms through Expedia. When I called front desk to cancel one she was extremely rude and hung up on me. They kept telling me different times the 'manager' would be working and no matter how many times I called I never got ahold of one to cancel the room. When we got there they had mixed up the beds and put us in smoking when we asked for non. The balconies were falling off and even though the sign on the pool opened at 9, they told my kids it didn't open until 11. When we confronted them they said (infront of my children) "some Fu****ers were having sex in it last night and we gotta dump some chemicals and Sh** in it now". Then when we checked out they charged us $20 more on each room and did not abide by Expedia's price. Also their breakfast was cereal and coffee.

Room Tip: If you don't want to fall and die, then stay on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Please DO NOT stay here!! The health department should have been called in long ago. A huge soaked dog urine puddle at the foot of the first bed, 2 dry-rotted mattresses, one hand towel, gray that I used to clean up dog urine, no other towels, terrible stench, like I said, a nightmare.

This place needs closed down yesterday!!! I do not understand the reviews here that state this place is okay; ya'll must be dreamin or came out of a worse place which I cannot fathom....This place is not fit for human life...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Do not go here. We stayed for a night, and when we got there there was hair in the shower, a TURD in the toilet, stains everywhere, ripped bedding & curtains, a layer of dust on everything, and not even a chair. Roof was in bad condition, along with the rest of the room. Wifi didn't work at first and had to get the management to fix it. Breakfast was simply powdered, cheap donuts and one variety of cereal. Pool was OK but was kind of dirty. I didn't expect a lot for this price, but a clean toilet and not dust on everything would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Like others, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room was large, quiet and very clean and had free wifi. It was a bit run down but totally within acceptable levels. The manager, Mr. Shah, was quite helpful. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Statesville, stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was very surprised at how quiet it was at this motel. It is on one of the busiest roads in Statesville. I was toward the back of the property which probably helped. And with a price of less than 40 dollars a night, it was a good deal. The bed and pillows were not very firm and the room could use some updating. It did have a mini-fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masters Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masters Economy Inn

Address: 702 Sullivan Road, Statesville, NC 28677
Location: United States > North Carolina > Statesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Masters Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Economy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masters Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.