We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
979 Folger Drive, Statesville, NC
704-838-1818
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in Statesville
Restaurant details
NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Not a good experience this time. First they sat us at a table and a few minutes later sat another party right next to us. The seats were joining each other so the other party was about a foot from us. Two rather loud ladies talking about their hospital experience. The restaurant was nearly empty-WHY? We asked to be moved and it took a very long time and was awkward. We should not have been put in this position. The Ceasar salad was terrible, the dressing tasted like straight garlic juice. The steaks were overcooked and dry. Big chunks of Broccoli w/o any seasonings or butter.

On the upside our waitstaff was excellent. (Not the hostess, she was clueless for the seating situation.) They saw that we didn't eat our Ceasar salads and offered to sub another side. Frozen margaritas and sweet potato fries were good. Not good enough however to warrant going back. Please learn how to cook steaks, otherwise what's the point?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rochester new york
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, attentive staff; typical good, Outback food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Outback is very conveniently located just in front of the Courtyard Marriott, making for an easy dinner when staying at the hotel. the staff was very friendly and attentive, making for a pleasant experience all around.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“They ran out of Potato's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We got the special. That was a mistake. They "ran out of the small backed potatos" that came with the special and substituted french fries. The only Baked Potatos that they had were the large ones. We were not allowed to have those with the special. We were forced to take french fries or green beans or some other vegetable. I guess Outback in Statesville never heard of Customer Satisfaction. They ended up losing my wife and I as customers because of the difference in cost of the small and the large baked potato. Outback in Statesville, NC OBVIOUSLY cares more about adding a couple of pennies to it's bottom line than it does satisfying it's customer. We were regulars at Out Back of Statesville, NC. Now, We will NEVER go back there!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just another chain steakhouse. Average. Not anything to get excited over or to complain about. Good service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Usually Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I order their Alice Springs chicken quesadillas off the Appetizer section as my main entree because they are delicious. Usually have great service though we try to get there between 4pm and 5:30p so we don't have to wait 90 minutes!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.