We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Statesville

Motel 6 Statesville
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Statesville to your Saves list
Motel 6 Statesville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1137 Morland Drive, I-77 at Exit #49-A, Statesville, NC 28677   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Lee, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped for the night and after 2 hours of people banging doors, arguing in halls, we went to front desk and found that only 1 clerk was on and said it was a group of 22 people and that he has lost others to this group before. Felt very unsafe there & left and informed front desk. When we contacted motel the next morning (we drove all night), the clerk that was on that night, denied that we complained and refused to provide any refund or compensation. Please be careful of this motel. Looks nice but obviously allow shady people there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    3
    6
    10
See reviews for
7
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was average clean - carpets were soiled, but then again this was a pet-friendly room so pristine carpets are not too likely. We asked for non-smoking but got a room with an ash tray although no smell of tobacco.
There was no stopper in the sink. A call to the desk got first a promise to make a note of it, but then the clerk came and delivered a new stopper (with a smile) when I insisted we really wanted to actually use the sink.
The motel is two story and frame construction, so noise from other guests was quite noticeable.
Price is low, but the most important part to us is that they gladly accomodate our small dogs - and there is a good area to walk them.
We will stay here again - this was our third stay at this location. Good (and free) coffee in the lobby in the morning. Not a luxurious place, but acceptable.

Room Tip: There is no traffic so location of room is not material, but a room on the second floor would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Haven't been to this motel for a few years so I was VERY pleased when I drove up and it looked "refreshed" rather than rundown as most of the budget motels along the eastern seaboard, north-south interstates have become.
The young lady at Reception was very courteous and professional and actually seemed interested in the client and their needs.
The TRAVEL COUPON BOOKLET also made the room a very reasonable price for a single traveler during the week. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are separated on the north and south sides rather than by inter-mixed sections or by floors which still lets the odors through.
Granted the room was on the small side but all I wanted was a clean bed and washroom and a TV. And all of these were there. Would have liked a small radio with an alarm but that was a small point.
No continental breakfast is offered in the morning which is obviously where your savings comes from but coffee is available. (There's my favourite WAFFLE HOUSE right at the top of the road anyway!!!)
Keep it up MOTEL 6 !!!! Thanks for your efforts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperhill, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Older room was small and cramped. Light bulb in bathroom took a long time to work and towel bar was about to fall off the wall. Card key to door showed green when used but you still couldn't open the door. Clean and quite. Staff was freindly and helpfully.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeAsABee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were surprised how clean and quiet our room was. We were just stopping for the night on our trip to New England and were pleased to get a good night's sleep. Bed was comfy and bathroom was very clean. We have noted this in our journal as a place to come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Afraid to sleep or sit on Bed covers, mattresses were dirty, sheets did not fit. Needed quick place on way to Florida (driving).

As I am used to better, would have to say we would not stay here again.

Did not seem safe as it was off of the beaten path, very dark. None of the other reviews surprise me.

Waffle House at the end of the road was a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This time I stayed in a room on the second level. Those rooms rooms have a little bit more space like the ones downstairs. You are feeling a little bit more comfortable because of the inside doors it is more like a hotel feeling.
Again everything what you expect from a Motel6, clean, good, quiet, low priced (39,99$). I will definetly stay there the next time I am in the Statesville area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Statesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Statesville

Address: 1137 Morland Drive, I-77 at Exit #49-A, Statesville, NC 28677
Location: United States > North Carolina > Statesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Statesville 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Statesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statesville Motel 6
Statesville Motel Six
Motel Six Statesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Statesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.