We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gluttons Restaurant & Bar

Gluttons Restaurant & Bar
1539 East Broad Street, Statesville, NC 28625
(704) 872-6951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 139 Restaurants in Statesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are loccated in New Towne Shopping Center off of I-77 and have been in business for 28 years. If you are looking for a GREAT STEAK and a friendly locally owned restaurant Gluttons is your place!
southeast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Gluttons always has great service. I love to sit downstairs at the tables by the bar. I love when it's cold outside and they have a warm fire. I've never had a bad meal here. I especially love their fries. Ask for them extra crispy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food like this is why the South lost the war....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Even the beer was stale. Vegetable sides were cooked to mush, mashed potatoes were just potatoes with added mystery grease. Avoid dining here at all costs. The staff was friendly, though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonladyinthesky, Owner at Gluttons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I had a staff meeting Monday morning after this review was posted to see why this complaint was not addressed with the guest at the time. All staff assured me that there were no complaints that evening.

It is a mystery why anyone would prefer to complain on the internet rather than inform
the friendly staff (as described by reviewer) on the night in question.

We would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory visit and respectfully suggest you
speak up in person the next time you have a dining experience anywhere that falls short
of your expectations.

Not having the opportunity to correct the problem leaves the customer and the establishment
unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice. Convenient off interstate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Old restaurant. BUT it was clean and the food was unexpectedly good. We had a party of six and had the shrimp, filet, prime rib. It was all good. Service was great. Really cool bar. See photos. If we weren't such a big party, that would have been fun to eat at the bar. Don't be scared by the old appearance or the shopping center cause the food was so much better than a common chain!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing to get excited about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to have dinner there after a recommendation from another friend. I was not overly impressed. The ambience left something to be desired and the decor was dreary. I understand the look they are trying to present but it does nothing to help the dining experience. Frankly the place just looks run down. The layout of this restaurant is very strange as we were dining upstairs which meant that the waitresses had to bring your food from the main floor. The service was good but the food was just average. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonladyinthesky, Owner at Gluttons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I'm sorry that you and your wife did not enjoy your visit to Gluttons. Our ambiance is not for everyone as we have lots of antiques, original art work, stain glass, grape vines from the Biltmore Estate & copper top tables that show their age. We definitely do not look like a Ruby Tuesday or Outback but more like a local owned restaurant you would find in Charleston or Savannah.

We do not own our building and we tried to work with the wooden post and other permanent structures one of which is the stairs . We wish there was room for an elevator but rest assured everyone we hire is quite aware of the challenges of our balcony dinning and sees it as a way to stay fit!

I am also sorry to hear that your dinner was just average as we strive for better but obviously failed with your dinner. I hope you will give us another chance before you write us off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great place to take family, business clients or just a romantic evening when you want a great meal. My fiancee and I eat here often and we have never had a bad meal. The filet mignon is one of the best I have ever had and you can never go wrong when ordering the cream of wild rice soup for an appetizer. They have just recently added ahi tuna as an appetizer which we love!!! They have a great selection and the prices are very resonable. The staff members are all very friendly and you often times see the owners come out to chat with regulars or people passing thorough. They really take pride in what they do. They have been in business for over 20 years, so they must be doing something right. Again, one of our favorite places to eat......you should really take time to stop in and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gluttons Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Statesville, NC
 

Been to Gluttons Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gluttons Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.