We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going out of your way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodshed Restaurant

Woodshed Restaurant
210 S Main St, Stanley, NC 28164-2011
704-263-1030
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Stanley
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great but different steakhouse located in a small town downtown. This is a large restaurant seating 250 -300 people with a dining room with a large guage train running around above it. It mainly has booths with tiffany type lamps above each booth. Salad bar is not real large but very fresh and one of the best ones around. make sure you order the tomato and onion sandwich which is really good! Steaks are outstanding served with a cup of mushroom sauce, Worth a special trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diarrhea Capitol of North Carolina”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This restaurant is horribly decorated with cheap lattis and large family pictures. the waitresses wear these degrading old smocks from the 1950's. The food is very expensive and made my family sick while walking out the door. Their "famous" tomato sandwiches that used to be free are made from two pieces of generic white bread. The tomatoes swim in a vat of muck. I'm not sure how this place has escaped the health inspectors grasp. I wouldn't send my worst enemy there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place For A Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Woodshed Restaurant in downtown Stanley, NC. has some of the best steaks I have eaten. They are big and thick and they don't marinate them, just a slab of beef cooked how you like it. You can add a side of horseradish sauce that put them over the top. The salad bar is very nice also. They also have some great homemade style deserts like coconut cake. The atmosphere is that of an old restaurant back in the day with lots of wood trim, wood floors and a couple trains that circle the dining area. The parking out front on the street fills up pretty fast but they have a back parking lot and back entrance. Don't let all the cars fool you on Friday and Saturday nights, the restaurant is very big and can handle lots of people without long waits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Woodshed Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Costly for such a small town, but stays packed and the food is consistently great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best steaks around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I don't get to eat here often as it's not close to home. But when I do you can count on it being the best ever. I have never had a bad meal here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodshed Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Woodshed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodshed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.