We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Ranchero Restaurant

El Ranchero Restaurant
202 Locust Ave, Spruce Pine, NC 28777
(828) 765-6222
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 32 restaurants in Spruce Pine
Restaurant details
Blowing Rock, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mexican in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Missed having my weekly Mexican fix visiting friends in the area. El Ranchero, while not the same as my regulars elsewhere, is a nice substitute when traveling here. Service is good and food good to very good. All selections were equally good. Is nice to have this option when here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    4
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

They have a large menu with a lot of choices and it's just what you'd expect a good Mexican restaurant to have. Friendly service and lots of seating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chili Con Queso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our favorite was the chili con queso, which they serve with a generous portion of Mexican spiced beef on top. The service is good if not overly friendly, and the rest of our meals were fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to grab lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had lunch here, typical mexican fare. Food and service was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ususal Mexican fare.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've had real Mexican food, and I've had all of the standard fare offered to us gringos. This is pretty much middle of the road. Good, but nothing spectacular. Portions are okay, prices to match. But nothing that has caused me to get really excited about visiting there too often. Mexican restaurants are becoming like Chinese places, two on every corner, and it will take something special to make one really stand out. This is the perfect place for a family or a bunch of friends to spend some time eating a good meal, but don't expect to find that "jewel" of a place that blows you away. Not happening here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Restaurant also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to El Ranchero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ranchero Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.