We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Sizzlin Steak & More

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Western Sizzlin Steak & More
11961 S 226 Hwy, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-8910
828-765-9151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good place to eat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We go to Spruce Pine a couple of times a year to visit friends and usually land at Western Sizzlin for lunch. We all know Western Sizzlin....it's essentially a buffet restaurant; serve yourself; eat all you care to eat....right? But this restaurant does it right and is obviously well managed. It's clean, the staff is friendly; they keep the buffet well stocked, and they have good selection. (Fried chicken is always good!). If you're looking for gourmet....well, you're not going to go to WS anyway, are you?....but if you just want a good solid meal, well prepared and in a nice clean restaurant.....this is good place to eat (and don't forget to eat your veggies!).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went in a few times durring our stay there. Its your typical buffet food. But there is good choices and enough for almost any tyep of eater. The staff is freindly and pays attention to you. The price is very good for what you get. You can order something off the buffet, its generaly good

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The food all seemed too salty to me, so I only ate melon and strawberries. Service was uninspired, it appeared to be a drudgery for the service staff, no one was smiling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Steak Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Salty, and tasted of Meat Tenderizer...Buffet was OK, but again some dishes were really salty tasting

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would go again if in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First let me say our vacation rental owner told us to go here and not go to the one in Burnsville (where we were staying). So that is a 25-30 min. drive from Burnsville. On Monday nights they have free kids meals for 12 and under. My husband, who hates buffets, ordered a steak from the menu and was surprised by the quality of the meat. The kids and I ate from the buffet and found it nicely presented, clean and of good quality (for this kind of a place). What surprised me was that it closed at 9, and we didn't sit down to eat till maybe 8:45, but the buffet still looked fresh and piled high. Waitress was very nice and as they needed to start closing down, they did come and ask us if we were done with the buffet before removing items for the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Sizzlin Steak & More also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Western Sizzlin Steak & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Sizzlin Steak & More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.