We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, short hike to beautiful vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linville Falls Visitor Center

Linville Falls Visitor Center
Rte. 1, milepost 316.4, Spruce Pine, NC
828/765-1045
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Spruce Pine
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Outdoors
Attraction details
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy, short hike to beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great visitor center with helpful staff. Trails are well marked and not too strenuous. The views are beautiful! Definitely worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Easy hike for great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at a campground nearby and drove over to the visitors center on a Saturday afternoon. We had adults, teens and children, and decided to take the moderate hike. We all were able to complete the hike, and completely enjoyed the views. What a beautiful place!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is a big map on the side of the visitor's center that shows the trails around the falls. Get one of the rangers to tell you about each trails. That was very informative for us and helped greatly as we made our decision of which trail to hike. We hiked the green trail which goes high above the falls. The view is magnificent, and I would call the hike moderate. As we hiked back down, we stopped at two other viewing areas, both with spectacular views. One was about halfway down, and the other was very, very close to the water rushing over the rocks. Be sure to take a video if you can. The three observation areas are very well done. One bit of advice-- go early in the day. We got there about 10-10:30 am and parked right next to the visitor's center. When we came back to our car a couple hours later, the parking lot was very full, lots and lots of cars, and this was on a somewhat rainy/misty Saturday. As we descended back to the visitor's center, we passed a lot of people who were going up, so go early. The green trail has a lot of rocks and tree roots. Older folks with limited mobility will find it difficult to go all the way to the top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, FL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop with questions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The rangers were pretty helpful with answering our questions. the gift shop is nice but compact. I didn't visit the restrooms so I'm not sure how they were but at least they have them there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The staff is extremely helpful & awesome waterfall hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff in the visitor center was extremely helpful & nice.
The trails are in good condition & the views are amazing when you get to the falls. Love this place & will always go back when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Falls Visitor Center also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Linville Falls, NC
 

Been to Linville Falls Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linville Falls Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.