We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not yet up to speed for the season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spruce Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Den
Save
You added Bear Den to your Saves list
600 Bear Den Mountain Road, Spruce Pine, NC 28777   |  
Hotel amenities
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not yet up to speed for the season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We passed through and stayed Friday night. I called ahead and explained we were arriving by bicycle and asked for a site that was sorta level and not too far from the bathhouse. When we got there, our site was up a huge hill and in the middle of it all...not in a good way. I called the office to ask about another site and they were quite eager to help (which I appreciate).

The trading post supplies were a bit sparse (I had hoped for a bit more as a possible resupply) but they do stock eggs, butter, bacon and snacks.

Showers were not hot. I got a tepid one because I bathed early. Others were not so lucky.

They have a washer/dryer at $1 in quarters each....had to pedal back up that big hill because I didn't have change but it did the job.

Room Tip: Choose your site down hill if its going to be windy otherwise you get everyone elses campfire smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Overall, our two day stay was fine, even though it began with a scary event. We arrived late on a Friday evening, received our key and map to the creekside cabin. As we passed the campground, we headed up a VERY STEEP, wet gravel/muddy road. My little car did not make it up the hill! Almost at the top, the tires spun into the road, I lost ALL traction and the car, my daughter and I SLID down the road to the edge of a very steep drop off. The driver's side of the car was on the edge of the road; we could not move an inch. After trying everything I could think of, my daughter ran back to the campground, found some guys willing to help us, and they pushed my car to safety and up the steep slick hill. I think they should warn people about this!!! The outcome for us on Friday could have been very bad (physically, emotionally, and financially)!

I was glad to see a nice cozy cabin and hot tub. Unfortunately, we could not get the heater/thermostat to turn on to heat the cabin; thankfully we had down sleeping bags to keep us warm at night in the cabin. We were able to warm the rooms after cooking breakfast on Saturday in the gas oven.

I was a bit disappointed that the kitchen was lacking a few important things, like a sharp knife, and pot holders. We brought a slow-cooker and made soup for the weekend; it was a challenge to chop vegetables, and to get the cornbread out of the oven! The kitchen dishes, glasses, and utensils are minimal; if you plan to host more than a few guests, bring your own.

The bathrooms and bedrooms were cozy and comfortable. The water is scalding HOT so beware when washing dishes, brushing teeth, or taking a shower!

LOVED the two rocking chairs on the front porch and back deck. Unfortunately, Family Cabin 1 does not have a view of the stream; the vegetation is very dense, though you can hear the water fall and stream. The communal fire pit was fun on Saturday evening; we met and chatted with several nice people from Ashboro, NC.

I might go back again, if I can find a travel partner with a vehicle that can make it up those steep roads safely!

Room Tip: Family Cabin #1 does not provide a view of the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We only spent one night but really loved this campground. It is in the woods right off Blue Ridge Parkway and has the nicest people running the campground. We have a 30ft motorhome with a carhauler and car and since we were only spending one night didn't want to unload car. They went out of their way to find us a spot big enough so we didn't have to unload the car and gave us an escort to our site. Yes the roads are narrow both in campsite and getting in and out of campsite but the woods and the quiet are great. Would have loved to spend more time here and in the area and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphi, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our family of six (Children Aged 16-6) camped at Bear Den September 12-September 19, 2013. We had an excellent stay there and highly recommend it. The grounds are very well maintained by a friendly, hardworking staff. The campsites are private, have good space and allow great views of the surrounding area. This campground is rugged and somewhat remote, so I only recommend it for experienced campers, especially if using a travel trailer or RV. The entrance road to the campground is rugged, steep and has many turns, though it is not impossible with a good tow vehicle and anti-sway set-up. The water and electrical service as well as the septic at our site (C3) was very good.
We appreciated the trails and the playground for our children. We would definitely stay at Bear Den again.
#NOTE - DO NOT rely on Google Maps for directions to the campground. It will route you on a completely inappropriate route.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came with a 32 foot toyhauler. Spots are short and unlevel. Roads in are gravel, curvey and very hilly. We brought a toyhauler with motorcycles. This is the worst campground that we have ever been to in over 10 years. This includes horse and atv campgrounds. We paid for 5 nights, we are only staying 2...no refunds...no refunds with less than 30 days notice for any reason...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my second visit to this campground - the first was a father/son camping trip about 10 years ago. This trip was with my son and wife and nothing has changed - and that's a good thing!

Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the campground is about a half mile in. 144 campsites along with cabins and private sites, the place is beautiful and beautifully kept. We stayed in loop B this time around, site 28 just down from the bathhouse but with neighbors only on one side. Site is large, clear and a sandy/gravel base with water and electric. Fire ring, picnic table and plenty of mature trees all around. While the trees don't offer much privacy, there is a little bit of distance from site to site. We were able to set up our 9x16 family tent, an 8x11 canopy and still had plenty of room for chairs around the fire and a grill.

The staff were very friendly, making regular patrols to check on everyone and kept the grounds and especially the bathhouse clean (several times a day!). While the bathhouse was a bit dated, it was clean, stocked and in good working order. The camp store has all the essentials and some extras - T-shirts, hats, candy, etc. The rec center has ping pong tables and doubles as a meeting area for bands and Sunday Services. Decent game room. Mountain spring fed small lake/large pond that is stocked with fish (son caught five good sized catfish!), has canoe rentals and swimming area with sandy beach.

We stayed for the long Labor Day weekend plus an extra day - every site was filled but come 9:30 it became quiet. Come Monday morning, everyone packed up and left and for most of the day, we were one of maybe a dozen campers in the enter campsite - the only ones in Loop B. But the camphosts/staff still made their rounds and even though we were the only ones using the bathhouse, they still came by and cleaned it.

Plenty of things to do in the area - Linville Caverns, Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain, gem mining, Alta Pass Orchards, etc. A 24-hour Wal Mart in nearby Spruce Pine.

While we did visit nearby attractions, it was a very relaxing camping vacation and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in their Mountain View Cabin over a weekend with another family. The cabin was fantastic, rustic feel. Views were very good in the mountains. Secluded in culdesac. Far from the other campers/tent sites. Very clean. We loved the hot tub and used it daily. Nice way to relax after hiking all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Den

Address: 600 Bear Den Mountain Road, Spruce Pine, NC 28777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Spruce Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Spruce Pine
Number of rooms: 142

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.