We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best campgrounds in the Carolinas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Den

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spruce Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Den
Save
You added Bear Den to your Saves list
600 Bear Den Mountain Road, Spruce Pine, NC 28777   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of the best campgrounds in the Carolinas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my second visit to this campground - the first was a father/son camping trip about 10 years ago. This trip was with my son and wife and nothing has changed - and that's a good thing!

Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the campground is about a half mile in. 144 campsites along with cabins and private sites, the place is beautiful and beautifully kept. We stayed in loop B this time around, site 28 just down from the bathhouse but with neighbors only on one side. Site is large, clear and a sandy/gravel base with water and electric. Fire ring, picnic table and plenty of mature trees all around. While the trees don't offer much privacy, there is a little bit of distance from site to site. We were able to set up our 9x16 family tent, an 8x11 canopy and still had plenty of room for chairs around the fire and a grill.

The staff were very friendly, making regular patrols to check on everyone and kept the grounds and especially the bathhouse clean (several times a day!). While the bathhouse was a bit dated, it was clean, stocked and in good working order. The camp store has all the essentials and some extras - T-shirts, hats, candy, etc. The rec center has ping pong tables and doubles as a meeting area for bands and Sunday Services. Decent game room. Mountain spring fed small lake/large pond that is stocked with fish (son caught five good sized catfish!), has canoe rentals and swimming area with sandy beach.

We stayed for the long Labor Day weekend plus an extra day - every site was filled but come 9:30 it became quiet. Come Monday morning, everyone packed up and left and for most of the day, we were one of maybe a dozen campers in the enter campsite - the only ones in Loop B. But the camphosts/staff still made their rounds and even though we were the only ones using the bathhouse, they still came by and cleaned it.

Plenty of things to do in the area - Linville Caverns, Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain, gem mining, Alta Pass Orchards, etc. A 24-hour Wal Mart in nearby Spruce Pine.

While we did visit nearby attractions, it was a very relaxing camping vacation and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in their Mountain View Cabin over a weekend with another family. The cabin was fantastic, rustic feel. Views were very good in the mountains. Secluded in culdesac. Far from the other campers/tent sites. Very clean. We loved the hot tub and used it daily. Nice way to relax after hiking all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've camped here several times. It's quiet and secluded. Nice sized sites, all wooded. Bath houses need updating. Entrance is long with tortuous curves. I wouldn't want to drive a big rig in, but it is directly off the Blue Ridge Parkway. A perfect place to relax and tour the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a very disappointing, shortened stay at Bear Den. There are several great things about the campground including the well-stocked camp store, good firewood for sale, clean bath house, quiet campground and nice wooded setting right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. But there were fundamental problems with our stay that made us leave after one night. We had rented a Campin' Cabin largely due to the regular rain we've been having and wanted an option to be indoors as needed (normally we tent camp...). The cabin however was almost uninhabitable due to the overwhelming musty, moldy smell. A special trip to buy a fan to pull in outside air helped but one of us was forced to sleep in the car as the air in the cabin made her feel sick.

We tried to make the best of it and spent time on the cabin porch and by the campfire. There was a disappointing lack of privacy at these cabins. I would expect more for $55/night. We made due by the picnic table by putting up a tarp and shower curtain and felt good for a short while. Then we realized the fire pit was useless. It was dug down into the ground about a foot and half and wet on the bottom. We spent 2 hours trying to keep a fire going (with good wood purchased at the camp store) and couldn't due to lack of air floor in the sunken pit.

After putting the fire out with water we brought we filled up our jug from the campsite spigot and got a horrible greeting of the distinct smell and taste of bleach (some folks mistakenly think that adding bleach to well water makes it safer to drink...). So here we were with no usable fire pit, no drinkable water and a moldy cabin! Then it starts raining! We retreated to the covered porch for dinner and appreciated that for a moment but after making it through the night we left.

We might come back to tent camp but we've got to have a couple of basics, a usable fire pit and drinkable water...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First, a couple observations regarding the campground as a whole - the lake is VERY small, though it does have lots of dock area around it for sitting and relaxing or fishing. You can fish there without a license, which is a plus. Seems to be plenty of activities to keep kids busy - game rooms and whatnot. Staff were VERY friendly and accommodating. We were assigned a tent site very close to the entrance and wanted to be a little closer to the bath house and they were very good to move us.

The campground is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. Lots of tree cover for shade from the sun abounds at pretty much every tent/pop up site. Every site also has two outlets for electricity and also a spigot for water. Some of them are in pretty bizarre locations so make sure you take a long extension cord if you plan on utilizing that. Plenty of trees around for hanging a hammock or putting up a tarp to help shield the tent from rain.

They have a pretty stocked store there in the office and also offer services to fill propane, sell ice and firewood. You can pretty much get everything you need right there at the campground, rather than having to travel into Spruce Pine.

My ONLY complaint is that one of the golf carts that the staff roll around on sounds like it belongs on a Nascar track and for some odd reason that particular cart was doing all sorts of business around our tent around 11:00 at night. Other than that, it was a great stay. We'd certainly go again.

Room Tip: Go into Spruce Pine and eat at the Dry County Brewing Co.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bear Den is a nice campground, very wooded and private. They have a game room, activities for the kids, and a small lake for fishing/swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are reasonably private, although the location of the water & electricity was sometimes in odd places. The bath houses were pretty clean but very hot. Not very good ventilation. The only other drawbacks were the roads coming into the campground were very rough & the sites are not very level. We had a "level" site but still had to bring the passenger side of the motorhome up quite a bit. Other than those two issues, we had a great time just relaxing and wandering around. Tent sites & RV sites available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are into rustic campgrounds, this is the place to be. Very family friendly and fun! Older campground that needs a few minor updates to the bath houses, but overall a VERY good camping experience.

Tent/RV sites are far enough apart that there is a great amount of privacy. Great staff and very clean campsites. We were in a tent this trip, but will take our RV next time we go. Fishing and swimming pond available. Creek with fishing nearby too. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Mountain road up to the campground is very steep in certain spots. Make sure your brakes are in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Den

Address: 600 Bear Den Mountain Road, Spruce Pine, NC 28777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Spruce Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Spruce Pine
Number of rooms: 142

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.