We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visitor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tropical Grill

The Tropical Grill
198 Oak Avenue, Spruce Pine, NC
+1 828-765-0909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Cuban, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Found high up on the Blue Ridge of the Appalachian Mountains, "The Tropical Grill" is here to give you an unexpected dining experience. As you exit off the Blue Ridge Parkway at Spruce Pine, NC, go to "Upper Street" in downtown Spruce Pine, across from the Wells Fargo Bank. Tropical Dishes from around the world... Not found anywhere in the mountains and in some cases nowhere else in the Continental United States, unique and original. Dishes from Central America, Colombia, Cuba, the Caribbean, Asia and of course all your favorite Country Style American Home Cookin'. Lunch and dinner includes a full deli and grill with our Philly cheese steak, ruebens, burgers, paninis, Cuban sandwiches and our famous "Riveria". Tropical selections for lunch and dinner include: Fish Tacos, a complete vegetarian and gluten free selection, our famous Tropi-chop platter, Pollo ala Plancha, Steak Argentina and our popular Quesadillas. We have a full line of salads, including our Caribbean salad, our Asian salad and our Greek Salad. Our Quatro Leche dessert cake is to die for! Dine in or take out. Catering is our specialty. PURCHASE OUR GUATEMALAN IMPORT PRODUCTS TO HELP SEND PROCEEDS TO THE MISSIONS IN GUATEMALA. By purchasing our Import products, you are helping the Guatemalan people in many ways. First you help put monies into the Mayan economy. This provides economic opportunities for entire villages that otherwise have very little hope. Secondly, proceeds from your purchase go back to the missions in Guatemala that provide a much needed medical service and supply. But most important, understand it is our primary task to reach each Guatemalan with the "Good News" of the Gospel of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
“First time visitor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The food, atmosphere and service was great! I had a delicious steak, so tender. Would definitely come again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to eat in Spruce Pine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Amazing meal from start to finish! The Columbian Cowboy steak is not to be missed! Truly a wonderful dining experience for the whole family-the service was perfect and we were really spoiled!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
1 review
“Great food, service, and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

A recent transplant from South Florida, I was surprised to find this restaurant nestled in the middle of the mountains. The restaurant though small in size, was both inviting and colorful. The homemade salsa served with colorful chips was excellent. The meal itself ws delicious and offered all the comfort foods I grew up with: white rice, black beans, and fried plantains. The "pollo a la plancha" appeared to be marinated in mojo and was tender and juicy. My husband ordered the pork tropi chop which was "authentic " (according to my husband ). The service was great, and our server (and owner) Claudia was friendly and efficient. The cafe con leche after the meal was just like my Abuelita used to make. Though it was a drive from Waynesville ( a scenic one at that), it was definitely worth it! I will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing- it has things for the adventuresome and for the not so adventurous! The owners are amazing, wonderful and loving- but the food is beyond description!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never tasted anything like it. Best steak ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My dad and I ate here for the second time. This place is the best restaurant in the state, no arguments. My dad had the rib eye and it was cooked to perfection and topped with some south american spice that complimented the steak without covering it's natural goodness. I had a Reuben that I will dream about. The co-owner/hostess makes you feel like a friend who she hasn't seen in forever. She is exceptionally warm and inviting, while also being quick witted and funny. Her husband, the chef, talked to us and made sure we were enjoying everything, which we definitely were. He is a true master of his craft and a genuinely nice guy. We will be coming back as long as they are open. STRONGLY recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tropical Grill also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Tropical Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tropical Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.