We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood soup was excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stuarts on the Green

Stuarts on the Green
2360 Swiss Pine Lake Drive, Grassy Creek Golf and Country Club, Spruce Pine, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in a beautiful setting, overlooking Grassy Creek Golf Course. Excellent food, home made soups and desserts, full ABC license , great wine list and local brews! Come join us for lunch,dinner, or Sunday Brunch! Closed Monday.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Seafood soup was excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

First let me point out this is a golf course restaurant, my husband says it is one of the best he has ever been to, clean and friendly. We both had the seafood soup and it was excellent. I ordered the baby leaf spinach salad with warm bacon dressing and my husband had the Philly sandwich. Both were wonderful, beautifully presented. Our sever was very attentive and we really enjoyed sitting looking out over the golf course. We enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretentious Attempt at Pleasing Everyone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The menu reads like a pretentious attempt at fine dining.

The dishes try to please everyone without satisfying anyone. A good restaurant menu perfects and reflects on what the local culture--through the chef's eyes can create and make delicious. At the simplest it should taste good and look good. This menu provided too much variety--from a Taco Salad to a $26 filet minion--grouper--chicken marsala--burgers. Does mexican-seafood-italian-american sound good to you? Well, it might. Try this place out. Nothin' impressive to me-especially when my dining choice is refracted through price.

The tuna wasn't bad, but it was $18 dollars--
I would have been better served to buy a couple chunks from any grocery store--defrost--and slice thin with some soy and rice-wine vinegar. I'm sure this restaurant follows a similar preparation method.

Thank goodness the blue-cheese burger had some nice grill marks and a charbroiled flavor somehow overpowering the pungent blue cheese.

The dining room is dim but the section looking out to the golf course has some nice views. Luckily we were asked to sit outside on this patio--into the sunlight--even though the dining room was empty

We felt we got rushed by the service--but maybe they were having a 'bad day'. I know I do, as a nurse. I still try to always make people feel listened too, however. I did not feel listened to.

I have visited the prime-rib buffet a couple of times--and prime rib is always good.

I am a lover of food and travel extensively to eat. I would not recommend this restaurant if it's ways are not changed--refocus. The vibe could be nice and the manager--who I met-- is a jolly, personable man. This made the visit all the more disappointing.

Well, I need to go to bed. I have to go to work tomorrow where I wipe poop for a living--and deal with blood, pee-pee of the homeless and family-less --- the mentally sick---the diseased and those without support. A job I love and take pride in.

-----------With that being said-- I had to work 5 hours to pay for my girlfriend, family and my meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enka, North Carolina
1 review
“REALLY Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I had dinner here this past Saturday, and it was PACKED. Everyone in Spruce Pine came to enjoy this place. The meal was splendid, and for as busy as they were it came out quick! There was even a line in the waiting area, we're not the only family that will come back many more times. Lots of menu options, Polo Fundido (Chicken Queso), Prime Rib (My wifes Favorite) and Chicken Gorgonzolla are all great choices. Will be back soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great creative, tasteful meal. Stuart is doing a great job maintaining this restaurant. The food, service and view is absolutely perfect. Thanks Stuart & staff!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stuart has redone this restaurant and the food is great. The brunch has a nice variety. The staff is always cheerful and attentive. Nice view of golf course. We have had dinner a few times and have really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuarts on the Green also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Stuarts on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuarts on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.