We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and worth a visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Lizard - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tin Lizard
65 Locust Avenue, Spruce Pine, NC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: New place with good service, interesting food, decent prices, and clean bathrooms. And four beers at a dollar each!
Restaurant details
Description: New place with good service, interesting food, decent prices, and clean bathrooms. And four beers at a dollar each!
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Good wings, fried green tomatoes and sweet potato fries. Bartender was nice. In an area with few choices this place is worth stopping at for a bite to eat!


    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gem in the Mineral City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Tin Lizard was a nice find during an autumn afternoon in Spruce Pine. The interior was nicely adorned, simple and welcoming. We had sandwiches and fries - go for the sweet potato ones! Entrees looked good, we were just looking for a quick meal. The wait staff was attentive, and the establishment offers free Wi-Fi for guests. There is a pub area with several draft brews and a nice bar. Give this place a try when visiting the area!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“ok diner style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Tin Lizard was a useful eating option during our stay in Spruce Pine. It was pouring with rain and we could park right outside which was very handy. We had burgers which were nice but not the best we've had in the states. There were two menus to choose from and a specials board. Overall a reasonable option for a small town.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Food great and my steak was cooked perfectly. Our waiter was above average but lack a couple of things which may be because he was newer. I.e. after we were eatng we heard another waitress say it was prime rib night, a special not on the board and he had presented the specials by simply telling us they were on the board rather than telling us about them. I will most defi ately return

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Calamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My partner and I visited the Tin Lizard for some late night drinks and an appetizer. We love a good calamari dish and this place has it. The squid was fried perfectly and the fresh diced tomatoes and onions went perfectly with it, but the real star was the balsamic reduction poured over the entire dish - WOW!!! My only complaint is that one order is not enough! The bartender was quick and pleasant - we had very good service. The restaurant was clean and you could tell some thought had gone into the decor - everything seemed fresh and new, as though they have recently opened. I can't speak to any entrees that they offer, but I would definitely recommend the Lizard for drinks and pub food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Lizard also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Lizard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.