We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll like this restaurant...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knife and Fork

Knife and Fork
61 Locust St, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-2754
828-765-1511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You'll like this restaurant...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First time at Knife and Fork, Spruce Pine, for us. 9 in our party. It's a small restaurant, but comfortable. Excellent service.....very nice wine list.....we had a variety of entrees and everyone enjoyed what they had. I had grilled redfish..not something you would expect to find on the menu in Spruce Pine. It was fresh and well prepared....very tasty. We ordered several appetizers....all good. House red that night was a Pinot Noir from Macedonia, of all places, and it was an excellent value....very drinkable. We understand that the menu changes....which, in our experience, is usually a good thing. These folks do a nice job. We'll go back..... and you should give it a try if you're in Spruce Pine, NC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    20
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The best restaurant for miles. Well worth a special trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Even better now that've added an outside patio. The food is always good. Even having just a couple of small plates instead of a main entree

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blue Ridge Parkway culinary treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A pleasant culinary surprise! We ate here for the first time last year while on a motorcycle trip with friends. We visited again just last night as a dinner destination on another motorcycle trip. My husband had grilled trout and I had ham with bok choy (the same dish I had last time). The ham steak is not your typical ... Very good, although a little fatty this time. The trout was very good. The food is so good that we wish the portions were a little more! Nice, selection of wines. Chef Nathan and his wife are very good hosts. Service was excellent.

The place is continually improving on eating atmosphere, with now out door seating in a rustic setting. See you next trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i went to the knife and fork for our vacation blowout dinner. Everything exceeded my expectations. Our server was phenomenal. The chef took time to greet guests and you could hear his passion for his food when he talked about it. The meal was some of the best farm to table food we have had and remind us of the harvest table in meadowview va (barbra kingsolover's clan's resturant).

The portions are what one might expect at a fine dining restaurant, so be sure to ask before you order if you are concerned about how much food you will get.

If we make it back to Spruce Pine- the knife and fork will be a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“unexpected treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

ended up at a B&B in Spruce Pine, NC after traveling down the Blue Ridge P'way. Knew nothing about the small town but B&B [Richmond Inn] recommended K&F. Not just good, but excellent. Modern American w. an Appalachian twist. Top flight service, superior cooking. Had cured trout belly starter and also ramps & shitake. Locavore. My wife & I had trout and hanger steak as entrees. Fine restaurant anywhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knife and Fork also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Knife and Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knife and Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.