We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Inn but very clean and well kept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alleghany Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alleghany Inn
Save
You added Alleghany Inn to your Saves list
341 N. Main Street, Sparta, NC 28675   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Older Inn but very clean and well kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for a few days in July. The Inn is on main road, easy to find. The Inn is older but very well kept and very clean. Staff very friendly. If ever passing through and you need a place to stay this is the place. Also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were riding the Blue Ridge parkway.
This place is great for motorcyclists, clean and friendly and reasonably priced.
They have ample parking and even provide cleaning towels for drying off your motorcycle.
Very quiet place to stay and family friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very disappointing. As a hotel that claims to be military veteran friendly. I was offered a very small discount. To get a bed to sleep on would have cost 2 days of active duty hazard pay. Another disappointing hotel that claims to help out veterans but won't take even $70.00 for a bed. Once again how people would use the yellow ribbons to hide their greed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
First of all thank you for your service! My son is currently deployed somewhere in the Middle East with the USMC, we appreciate all of our Service Men and Women.

The Alleghany Inn offers a 20% discount to all active duty and retired military with no blackout dates. If you did not receive this amount I apologize, please contact me immediately and I will refund the difference and take an additional 20% off for your inconvenience.

Thank You,
John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a good place to stay for one night. Read the reviews on this place, and gave it a try. Reviews are accurate. It is an older (1950's?) two story motel in the center of town. The staff is over the top friendly and accommodating, very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We stayed in one of the rooms in their "Conference Center". I would have preferred one of the "Motel" rooms, as ours did not have a balcony. However, it was a large room, spotless, comfortable and did have a coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24-7 in the lobby. However, ladies, bring your hairdryers, as they don't have them in the rooms. Great place to stay, don't hesitate to make a reservation. And eat breakfast at the pizza joint next door, great food for cheap prices. Also try the River Rock Grille for dinner.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony or outdoor patio, ask for the motel rooms, not the conference center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! In early June we completed the installation of hair dryers in every room so no need to bring one along anymore.

John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were visiting family who had recently purchased land in the Sparta area and were camping on their land. As we are not campers we looked for something close by. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future. There is also a nice little restaurant next door which served very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stay here frequently with family nearby. The hotel is always clean and very affordable. The accommodations are somewhat behind, but all working and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to sleep, I recommend this establishment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were traveling on the Blue Ridge parkway and stayed here one night. It was very clean for being an older place. The staff were friendly. The room was cozy. The only complaint I have is the pillows were kinda flat. My husband didn't like that the room didn't have a coffee maker. But there was coffee, tea, etc in the office. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Address: 341 N. Main Street, Sparta, NC 28675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alleghany Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.