We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant B&B near the Parkway with amazing outdoor areas and view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1740 Halsey Knob Road, Sparta, NC 28675   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparta B&B and Inns
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant B&B near the Parkway with amazing outdoor areas and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I travelled with friends to Laurel Springs/Sparta area to pick up winemaking supplies and chose to spend the night at the beautiful home of Barbara and Jim Halsey. What a great decision! Although it is the epitome of elegance, we were comfortably at home there and our hosts couldn't have been more gracious. A long soak in the jacuzzi tub ended my day of wine tasting and dinner in town, but we were surprised after dinner by our hosts with a delicious homemade blackberry cobbler ala mode! A fabulous breakfast awaited us in the morning and coffee was available for our early bird who enjoyed reading in the cozy library, complete with fireplace. Everything you could possibly want in a B&B stay is here. We are returning in October to enjoy the amazing outdoor spaces of this retreat. A big snow and cold temps kept us inside this trip. We look forward to live music on the deck and lots of porch sitting. I will take in the sunrise from the porch or the Adirondack chairs perfectly sited to enjoy the view!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay in the Peach Bottom Room at the Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast. Beautifully decorated, comfortable, and simply elegant in details, the suite was a haven for the weary holiday traveler. Waking to a tranquil sunrise over peaceful views of the surrounding mountains was a warm and relaxing sojourn during a busy time of year. An overnight stop on our journey down the Blue Ridge Parkway in late November 2011, we were thrilled with the comfort of the home, the hospitality of our gracious hosts Barbara and Jim, and the quality of the food and conversation. We highly recommend a stay in this beautiful Bed & Breakfast, no matter the season or the reason.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and well appointed - Peach Bottom was delightful and perfect for our needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were really pleased with the room (Virginia Highlands) and the yummy breakfasts. It was the quietest place I have ever stayed! There were 3 couples when we were there, but we never heard anyone else. Other than at breakfast, or hanging out in the common areas, we would have thought we were alone. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and had a lot of good information about the area. Beautiful setting - a real treat!

Room Tip: We liked the walk-in shower in the Virginia Highlands room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Harmony Hill for two nights in October 2012. The hosts, Barbara and Jim are incredibly nice people. We felt like being part of the family. The house and its rooms are great. One can see and feel that every detail is perfect and fits into the design concept and it is a very cosy and warm atmosphere everywhere in the house, that by the way has its own very special history. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed the best pancakes we ever had! Harmony Hill is the place to stay if you are travelling in North Carolina or on the Blueridge Parkway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

WOW! We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts on the east coast, west coast and England and Harmony Hill is on the top of the list. For starters -- the innkeepers, Jim and Barbara, were so welcoming, accomodating and knowledgable about the area. They immediately made you feel right at home with the added benefit of being treated like royalty. The rooms were spotless and impeccably decorated. It was like being in a Southerin Living magazine. The breakfasts were beyond gourmet and the service was better than any five star restaurant. As an extra treat their were local performers palying on the veranda both Friday and Saturday evening. The setting, area, and view were breathtaking. I could go on and on. You must go yourself and experience it first hand. We will definitely be making a return trip. Thanks again Barbara and Jim.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Virginia Highlands, which was great. Our friends stayed in the Peach Bottom room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were greeted as though we were long lost family. The breakfasts were excellent. The music on Friday and Saturday were outstanding. The owners were very knowledgable about the area and did not steer us wrong on restaurant choices. I highly recommned this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we spend just one night in Barbara'a wonderful bed & breakfast house in Sparta during our road trip in August 2012!
It's really not easy to find words for this peaceful place, where you just can hear noices of nature...nothing else!
Barbara was soooo nice (thanks again for everything!!!) and so it's no surprise we totally fall in love with her perfect decorated house, the lovely unique rooms (we had the blue ridge room:), the mountains, and her two dogs,of course!!
It felt like home and that's the reason it was so hard to leave,because Harmony Hill is just what it sounds like...the best B&B we'd ever stayed in..and we promised her to come back..and of course we'll do it someday..hopefully as soon as possible!
I think you get a little impression, when you take a look at the pictures...stay nowhere else, you'll regret it!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1740 Halsey Knob Road, Sparta, NC 28675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Sparta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast provides the perfect Sparta NC lodging experience. The main house has seven bedrooms, five of which are open to our guests. The Carriage House is separate from the main house and has its own private entrance. Each bedroom is air-conditioned with its own private bath, and four of the six bedrooms feature fireplaces with gas logs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.