We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it love it love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop
15 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675
336-372-7888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Sparta
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Love it love it love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great coffe, always fresh, and a delightful hostess, Selma. Everyone likes the place and the locals hang out there -- AND Selma is, like, the world's best baker! Try the rum cake, the brownies, etc etc - lots of specialty coffees and teas, no order too complicated. Computer available, live music sometimes, simply astoundingly great coffee place on the main street of a small mountain town.....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    17
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop with a wide selection of Coffee, tea, smoothies, hot or cold items.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very nice atmosphere. WIFI, a few seats at the "bar", a small table, and a few sofa type seats. I usually stop for a hot herbal tea on my lunch hour when I am in town. They also sell local arts and crafts. But they do take a lot of time making the tea and it can get really slow if someone else orders a large tea as they only had one pot to make large tea in when I was there last. So I only go when I have time to wait 20 minutes or so or I order a small.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“great place, laid back and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Not sure what happened to the previous couple but I have been to the Backwoods Bean a number of times and I love it there. They are very friendly unless they are busy. The wine I had at the wine tasting was good and there were a lot of good cheeses that were complimentary. I would give them another shot, there is a learning curve here maybe, remembering too, that this is Sparta, not Charlotte or D.C. They are having Cuban night on June 24th and I plan to be there!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome products & owner is the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I frequent Sparta, NC often and everyday we are there we go to Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop. Selma, the owner, is simply wonderful and will bend over backwards to provide you with the best customer service you have every had in a coffee shop. When we talk about Sparta to our friends we always tell them to be sure and go by and see Selma and enjoy her hospitality, great coffee and delicious pastries!

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
“Sorry about the wine snob's bad experiance, but”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

this place is great! I have had coffee and fresh bakery there several times and not only is the owner and folks that frequent Backwoods Beans have always been very nice. Maybe wine-o had one too many and was seeing double :-)

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop also viewed

Sparta, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Sparta, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Sparta, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Sparta, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backwoods Bean Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.