We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just great food, but a total experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Provision Company

The Provision Company
130 Yacht Basin Dr, Southport, NC 28461-3712
910-457-0654
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not just great food, but a total experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We visited on a very busy day and enjoyed it all. You arrive, get on the seating list and get drinks from coolers on an honor basis. Once your name is called, you leave something to save your table and get in line to order. We waited about 30-40 minutes, but enjoyed our drinks and the people watching -- all kinds of folks eat here! The food is yummy, especially the crab cakes and the shrimp. Ignore the water logged corn on the cob!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    122
    44
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice super casual lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great place to stop in for lunch as you are (fish scales included). Portions are generous, service quick and the beer's cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“May be fun to visit by water...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've been here so many times I can't count them and it's a fun place at times. Coming by boat with a group of friends is fun. (It's always about the crowd you're with!)

Most people say this is a must when visiting Southport. The menu has been the same for 10+ years. There are not a lot of choices. The crab cake has too much filling in it; needs more crab to be authentically East Coast good. Wish they would put a few more things on the menu.

But if you've never been, it's a great place to begin in experiencing this beautiful old southern town filled with charm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, fun view in Southport, NC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I ended a recent vacation at Bald Head Island. For lunch we stopped at The Provision Company. We knew this restaurant was right on the marina with excellent food. It is not a fancy place.People are in beach attire as well as business. You order at a counter overlooking the grill. They get your name and you pass through screen doors that lead to a open air room with plastic chairs that overlooks the marina.The view is quaint. An abundance of ceiling fans keep the space comfy. Servers announce your name; you raise your hand and get your food brought to your table. The menu is not extensive. However, I had a Yellow Fin Tuna sandwich; my wife had a Crab cake sandwich. The tuna sandwich was excellent. The crab cake was adequate. My wife was impressed at how quickly servers were cleaning up tables. We have eaten in a few informal venues where tables are left. If you want well-prepared seafood in an informal atmosphere...try The Provision Company. Our meal will keep me and my family coming back for a long time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stopped in here for dinner on a referral from a local. It was hopping and everybody seemed nice and fun. You sit outside and everything was kinda simple but clean and an excellent view over the marina. The food came quick and was very good. You cannot beat such a great view while relaxing and eating. After dinner we went and walked out on the marina for a bit. Super fun place at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Provision Company also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Provision Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Provision Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.