We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and unique service arrangement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Provision Company

The Provision Company
130 Yacht Basin Dr, Southport, NC 28461-3712
910-457-0654
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 74 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Fair Play, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and unique service arrangement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ate with a group and as others have stated, it was a unique experience that should be led by someone experienced. Need to order as you come in the door and they'll get your order and directions. Good outside atmosphere and good food. Had shrimp and crab cake. Crab cake was okay and shrimp were just plain tasty. Wait staff were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    112
    42
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second visit to what the locals call Provision Company. Put your name on a list, get your own drink & try to find some shade while you wait 30-60 minutes for a table. Once in, place your order & wait for the food to be delivered to your table, generally 10-15 minutes. Eat local - shrimp, grouper are fresh; tuna might be, too, but didn't try it. Grouper salad popular, way too gloppy with mayo for my taste. Great burger - not exactly a seafood specialty, but after a few days of non stop seafood, the burger was a nice change at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Different experience, but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went with a group of 10 over Labor Day. I was the only one who had not been before. Thank goodness, the others had been. The entering the building, ordering, getting your drink, seating and paying process was very different from anywhere I'd been before. Follow directions (and the "experienced"). It'll be worth it. Very casual. Very busy. Very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our visit to the "wobbly docks"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We always come in by boat hence the name wobbly docks. The food is always good, we order the tuna sandwich medium rare and a bucket of clams. Always cooked perfectly and taste great. The service is good and the view of water is always relaxing. I highly recommend this place, but it is popular so always a small wait. Go and enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we first moved to the area eight years ago, we heard a lot about the Provision Company. "They have THE BEST crab cakes!" we were told. "You HAVE to go there." So we went. For the longest time, I was sure we had ended up in the wrong place because they definitely did NOT have the best crab cakes. In fact they ranked in the bottom as far as crab cakes go, unless you prefer your crab cakes to consist entirely of breading and very little crab. But people kept raving about the place, so I thought my experience may have been a fluke. We've tried it a couple more times since then and my experience was the same each time. The prices are not cheap, considering the low quality of the food and the amount you get. The menu is on a chalkboard in front of the entrance, so you have no choice but to bottle up in front of the counter if you don't already know what you want and it's hard to read because the writing is crammed on there. Yes, it's located on the water, but there are other restaurants on the water that are as good or better with more convenient ordering practices. When people tell you you HAVE to go here, don't believe them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Provision Company also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Provision Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Provision Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.