We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frying Pan

The Frying Pan
319 West Bay Street, Southport, NC 28461
910-363-4382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Shrimp and grits is excellent. View is awesome, very open, airy restaurant. The staff is attentive and service is fast. Pricey.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    53
    29
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Archdale, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food was absolutely amazing!! Everything is fresh, homemade dressings, sauces. Reasonably priced. Atmosphere is welcoming, staff very friendly and knowledgable. I could easily see the small dining room being very crowded in peak season, but it is most definitely worth the wait!!! Highly recommend- my new favorite restaurant!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, Usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great location in a popular tourist area. Food is okay, especially if you like fried seafood. Nice view. Crowded during the season.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I traveled with work colleagues from Wilmington for dinner. We assumed we would find typical Calabash style fried seafood. We were pleasantly surprised as our expectations were quickly thrown out the window. The food was outstanding and the staff friendly and professional. The hush puppies were made with a twist and included a hint of onion and were paired with honey butter. Our group ate a variety of meals and everyone cleaned their plates! I ate a grouper special which was delicious. The meal was followed up by homemade deserts of cheesecake and sweet potato bread pudding. Both were outstanding. The venue was also extraordinary located in a beautiful building overlooking the water with a view of Southport Marina. Worth the drive! I would recommend the Frying Pan!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great food. Friendly staff made us feel welcome. Looked like a place locals enjoyed. Setting is great. Wonderful even in off-season

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frying Pan also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Frying Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frying Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.