We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ports of Call

Ports of Call
116 N. Howe St., Southport, NC 28461
910-457-4544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Tapas, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Downtown at 116 N Howe St. Southport, NC 28461 Two blocks from the water.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant. Wonderful ambiance. I had a fabulous cod dinner, the fish was cooked just the way I like it. The crabmeat topping was wonderful. The service is very friendly and efficient. My husband didn't think the prime rib was anything special but it was good. However, he very much liked the place and would definitely go back. I recommend you try this if you are in Southport. Our other 2 friends said they really enjoyed their dinner. They take reservations which we like

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Manager at Ports of Call, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for dining with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Food and wine menu is excellent. The avocado stuffed with curry chicken salad is delicious, and so are the crab cakes. Good prices for upscale food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Manager at Ports of Call, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Keep in mind we update our menus every season so come back and see us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Fish Two Nights In A Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have always enjoyed Ports for the food and atmosphere but something is terribly wrong with your planning for evening meals. We dined in your restaurant on 12/22 and 3 members of our party ordered a fish entree. One person ordered the entree listed on the menu, cod, and the other two ordered the fish special, triggerfish. Approximately 20-30 minutes after placing our order, our server informed us that no fish was available. We were provided menus, again, and as we were trying to make an alternate selection, the server reappeared and a fish that was not even on the menu, sea bass, was now available. We all ordered this and the fish was fine; however, an alternate side was provided and we were upcharged a dollar for each plate because of the substitution. Since we were with out of town guests, this was a somewhat embarrassing situation, given the fact we had raved over the restaurant. Subsequently, we dined in your restaurant on New Year's Eve. I ordered the sea bass entree. Again, 30-40 minutes passed and I was informed that it was not available. No alternate fish was available and I was forced to order from the remaining entree selections. I think this situation was totally unacceptable. The menu was prix fixe and all diners had reservations. You were fully aware how many people you would be serving that evening. There is definitely a problem with entree planning and communication between the kitchen and servers. I can't in good conscience give your more than an "average" rating based on these two recent experiences. I hope you will use this information to improve the situation as we have always enjoyed dining with you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We apologize for the unfortunate circumstances you experienced during your last visits at the bistro. We have informed all our staff of your comments and are working on getting these issues resolved.

I would like to provide you with some information regarding the evenings you dined with us. With regards to your Dec. 22 dinner, the Cod is a regular item on the menu and for that evening, we offered the Triggerfish as a special. Whenever possible, we try and get the fish we serve from our local seafood merchant in Oak Island in order for it to be as fresh as possible. We are dependent on what he can provide to us on any given day. For example, if our merchant provides us with a dozen pieces of Triggerfish, then we can only offer a dozen pieces as the special. Given that this was a Saturday evening, we cannot anticipate the number of people who will be dining that evening and what each customer will be ordering as their entree. It was apparent that both the Cod and Triggerfish were popular entrees that night. When our chef received your order in the kitchen, he was well aware that he cannot fulfill it. As a courtesy to you and your party, he decided to offer you the Seabass, which we had in stock but was not part of the evening's menu. Upon being given this offer, you decided to take it. According to your server, she informed you of the upcharge due to the substitution and you did not have any objections. If you did not want to pay the upcharge, you could have informed your server. She would have told me about it and we could have resolved this issue that evening.

With regards to the New Year's Eve dinner, we did offer a Prix Fixe menu with 5 entree options. You are correct in saying that all diners had reservations. We served 90 customers that evening. We may have known how many customers will be arriving but we did not know what entrees they will be ordering. Unfortunately, it was not feasible for us to prepare 90 pieces of each entree being offered.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when you dined with us. We are working to improve our procedures in order to avoid these problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food; service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had an early dinner here before the restaurant became crowded. The crabcake appetizer was excellent--one of the best I've had. My petite filet with portobello and goat cheese was fork tender and cooked exactly as ordered. My husband's pork entree was delicious also. Bread and salads were ordinary.

Dessert could have been so much better--husband ordered coffee with dessert. Coffee didn't arrive until after we finished our cake. There was a long wait between ordering and the appetizers also. We noticed one gentleman waiting a very long time for his bill.

If the service glitches can be ironed out, this will be a wonderful place for Southport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We apologize about the service during your last visit. I will address these issues with our waitstaff and do our best to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We eat here often but were lured in tonight by the Dickens Festival in Southport and Ports of Call's English specials. We ended up surprising ourselves by veering away from the specials and ordering four of their tapas that we hadn't tried before. My husband and I shared four different tapas dishes: mussels, clams, chicken, shrimp each with its own unique spices and sauces.

Service and ambiance was impeccable as always.

5 Stars for this little restaurant in this little town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are glad to hear you enoyed your tapas dishes. Watch out for our Christmas Eve and New Year's eve specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Call also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ports of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports of Call, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.