We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ports of Call

Ports of Call
116 N. Howe St., Southport, NC 28461
910-457-4544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Tapas, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Downtown at 116 N Howe St. Southport, NC 28461 Two blocks from the water.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food; service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had an early dinner here before the restaurant became crowded. The crabcake appetizer was excellent--one of the best I've had. My petite filet with portobello and goat cheese was fork tender and cooked exactly as ordered. My husband's pork entree was delicious also. Bread and salads were ordinary.

Dessert could have been so much better--husband ordered coffee with dessert. Coffee didn't arrive until after we finished our cake. There was a long wait between ordering and the appetizers also. We noticed one gentleman waiting a very long time for his bill.

If the service glitches can be ironed out, this will be a wonderful place for Southport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We apologize about the service during your last visit. I will address these issues with our waitstaff and do our best to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We eat here often but were lured in tonight by the Dickens Festival in Southport and Ports of Call's English specials. We ended up surprising ourselves by veering away from the specials and ordering four of their tapas that we hadn't tried before. My husband and I shared four different tapas dishes: mussels, clams, chicken, shrimp each with its own unique spices and sauces.

Service and ambiance was impeccable as always.

5 Stars for this little restaurant in this little town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are glad to hear you enoyed your tapas dishes. Watch out for our Christmas Eve and New Year's eve specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lunch in Southport”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We ordered a glass of wine, clam chowder, beef wrap and shrimp poor boy. Poor boy sauce on the sandwich was way too hot. Spouse's bee in her gyro was cut with not against the grain of the meat, rendering it impossible to eat. $45 later I noticed a very busy and looked to be affordable family diner just up the street

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We aplogize if the remoulade we used for your Shrimp poBoy was too spicy for your taste. We also apologize for the condition of the beef that came with the gyro order. As a replacement dish, you ordered the Spinach salad with feta, bacon, tomato, cucumber, toasted pecans and a tomato vinaigrette.
With regards to your bill of $45, I would like to give the readers of your review the breakdown of your transaction. Here are the items you ordered and their corresponding prices:
1 cup of New England Chowder $4.95
1 bowl of New England Chowder $7.95
1 Spinach Salad $9.95
1 Shrimp PoBoy $10.95
1 glass of Junta Chardonnay $7.00
Subtotal $40.80
Tax $ 2.75
TOTAL $43.55

Again, we apologize if you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent for Dinner... will be back for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Dinner at Ports of Call was indeed excellent! The ambiance is both elegant & cozy. Service is impeccable. Cuisine is extraordinary. There were many entrees on the menu that caught my eye but I finally decided to order the small filet. It was pure perfection... very tender & tasty. Side dishes of green beans & sweet potato souffle were both excellent. My hubby ordered the seafood pasta special of shrimp & clams in a zesty tomato sauce and declared it excellent as well. The only down side was the house salad which missed a beat because it was just greens with an overpowering balsamic vinaigrette. Though I didn't save room for dessert, the dessert tray was tempting! We will be back many times!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon and next time, leave some room for dessert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful menu. Warm and inviting atmoshpere. The owners are friendly and pay attention to the details.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for all your support. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Call also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ports of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports of Call, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.