We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Southport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Southport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Southport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5181 Southport Supply Road SE, Southport, NC 28461   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sticky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The rooms were very well maintained and the staff was friendly but for some reason all three times I've stayed in this hotel the rooms are so humid. No matter how you set the thermostat or anythig else you feel sticky.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    65
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
83
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Southport for a family wedding. It was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very nice and had a great assortment of items. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The pool was spotless and perfect swimming temperature. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The place was what I expect from a Hampton Inn. Clean. Well maintained. Nice breakfast. Very friendly and attentive staff. The only morning that I was able to go down for breakfast, there was an attendant asking everyone if they needed anything else. Refilling the empties, cleaning up. Customer service like I expect, not like I get most places. I had a room on the ground floor, which I always try to avoid, however, it was quiet and comfortable. No problems.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a good stay, up to Hampton standards. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable bed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Requests are handled well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is at least my fourth trip to this hotel. It is consistently clean, with friendly service. I especially appreciate the second shift's (6/9/11 & 6/10/11) recommendations for dinner, etc. The only issue I have is that it is always difficult to park!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTfromNC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Yes, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the location is fine. The free breakfast is slightly above a continental breakfast (we passed) It was nice to have coffee, tea, hot chocolate available 24hrs. but how often would one really use this? Has a nice, although pricey, Italian restaurant next door.

BUT.... If you need wifi service this place will not work for you, and the only compromise is to sit in the lobby doing your work in their "business center" which doubles as the breakfast area lobby seating area.

Sorry, that offer is not a good solution.


My advice for the hotel owners?

Fire your current wifi service provider and get a company that can do it right.


Was I satisfied? NOT A CHANCE! Would I recommend this hotel? NO!

Room Tip: Business traveler? Comfort Suites in Leland....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eerickson, General Manager at Hampton Inn Southport, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Hampton Inn Southport. I would like to extend my apologies to you that the WiFi service we provide falls well short of your expectiations. Please know that, as part of the Hilton Family of Hotels, we are working hard to keep up with the increased demands for fast and reliable WiFi service for our guests.

We will continue to work diligently to find a solution for you, our valued guests.

Thank you for staying with us. I hope we will have an opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,
Eleanor Erickson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed at Hampton Inn in Southport last weekend with my family. We were there for a wedding. I found the hotel to be fine, no major problems. It had everything that was needed. The beds were a litte worn but still okay. Pillows were nice. Nice flat screen tv. I stayed on the first floor and could hear when others walked above us but it wasn't horrible. They have a nice size bathroom. The closet was a litttle small. I did use the free wi-fi, you need a code from the front desk. They also have a computer room to use if you don't have your own computer, with printer. The front desk staff was very helpful. They have a breakfast area that you can get fruit, cookies, coffee, tea from 24/7. The breakfast was nice. You had items that were pre-cooked and in bags that you heat up in the microwaves. On my morning it was french toast, ham & cheese omelettes and sauage biscuits. Pretty good. You also have a self waffle maker, which Sarah (friendly staff) was there to assist with because many were having a hard time figuring it out!

All in all I have happy with my stay and wouldn't delay in staying here again if an opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Southport

Address: 5181 Southport Supply Road SE, Southport, NC 28461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between the bustle of Wilmington and the glitz of Myrtle Beach, you'll find quaint Southport, NC - a spot that has attracted sailors and beachcombers for centuries. Upon arriving at our hotel, you'll find many great amenities like our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, and our comfiest amenity yet: Cloud Nine bedding. All of this is served with a smile and backed by our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Southport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.