We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag, but some good options on the menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loco Jo's Bar and Grill

Loco Jo's Bar and Grill
602 North Howe Street, Southport, NC 28461
910-457-9009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A mixed bag, but some good options on the menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The service was very slow (they were very busy; the waitress found time to chat but not bring things to the table), and it's a funny place, kind of quirky. As in, they sell American style tacos but don't have guacamole. And if you order a slice of lemon, they bring packets of lemon crystals. The grilled fish tacos were good, the chipotle steak tacos were below average, and the pork tenderloin sandwich on special was delicious but obscenely large. Two people at our table ordered it and the waitress didn't bat an eye. Then the sandwiches arrived, and each one was big enough to serve two huge and three regular appetites. We found it very funny, but at anywhere but a quirky beach town pub, I would have expected the waitress to give us a heads up. Overall, good prices, and i would go back for a quick lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    33
    17
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a lunch visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service was super friendly and excellent. My Vietnamese special was good but will get the delicious looking fish tacos or pork sandwiches on my next visit. Very casual setting

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Were taken there by friends & wasn't disappointed , the crab dip was excellent & the pulled pork tacos were delicious. Service was great & waitstaff friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good people, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

In town on a work trip, this was a recommendation by the front desk clerk at the hotel, super impressed with waitstaff, atmosphere, and the mahi tacos I had were incredible. Will definitely be back if ever in the area again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food and the specials we picked were delicious!! So good, we ate here twice. Definitely will come again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loco Jo's Bar and Grill also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Loco Jo's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loco Jo's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.