We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Cuisine Cafe & Catering

Taylor Cuisine Cafe & Catering
731 North Howe Street, Southport, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 74 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Phone 910/454-0088 • 910/454-8156
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We go here for lunch often. They have the best salads in the area! This is the perfect restaurant for any type meal. The last visit I had the BBQ pork ribs. They were great.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Special not so special.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

After noticing this place was fairly busy when passing by several times, we figured the locals like to frequent Taylor's. So on a weekend night we stopped inand ordered the special, which on this night was ribs. Mistake number one. Hard to chew and very fatty, the ribs were quite disappointing. Spouse ordered country fried steak. Mistake number two. Nothing to write home about the meal seemed llike the kitchen staff there simply mailed it in. Yes, we did find plenty of locals here, but that did not translate into good food. There are plenty of other choices in Southport. Pick one, or take your chances with a place that seems to have tired of being creative with their meals.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food and ambiance are awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Comfort food at its best. Eat here often and the food is absolutely delicious. Black eyed peas and sweet potatoe soufflé - one of my favorites. Breakfast always out of the ordinary. The owners are so sweet

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“D-licious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I woke up wanting a good breakfast! Where to go in Southport?
Taylor's! Friendly atmosphere, great services and OMG , the food!
My husband tried the pumpkin pancakes and they were great, nice lean, crisp bacon
I had a poached egg special, cooked to perfection and my grits were the best I have ever eaten
( and I do not eat grits)
Definitely we will be back, these folks can COOK !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I went for breakfast and thought it was pretty good. I had country ham, eggs and grits. LOVED the grits, they were nice and creamy (the perfect shrimp and grits- grits). The country ham was tasty too but, there was very little of it (due to the fact that it had a bone in it and lots of fat around the edge).

My husband had sausage, eggs and home fries. Unfortunately his home fries were cold. I think they would have been good, had they have been hot.

We went at a good time when we were able to get a seat. When we left most tables were full as it isn't a huge place.

I would probably go back and give them another try, maybe for lunch?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Cuisine Cafe & Catering also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Taylor Cuisine Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Cuisine Cafe & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.