We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hosts; Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Save Saved
You added Robert Ruark Inn to your Saves list
119 N Lord Street, Southport, NC 28461   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tea House Cafe Offer
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible Hosts; Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hosts provided transportation, a highly educated tour, amazing (large) breakfast and friendly conversation throughout our stay. Several seating areas on the property were perfect for morning, afternoon and evening conversation. The Inn's location is perfect in town. Just off the main path but walking distance anywhere you desire.

Our luxurious room (Virginia's Room) came with plenty of space, comfortable sitting and a phenomenal bathroom. The bathroom alone was worth the stay.

Southport is a city with plenty to experience nestled into a quaint, modern fairytale. It's quiet. It's historical. It will enchant you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much Kevin for the review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and 'Virginia's Room.' It's nice to get feedback on all the outdoor space as well. When we purchased the Inn, that was one thing we felt was very important (providing numerous outdoor spaces/settings for our guests to enjoy). In fact, that is why we added the fire pit in the courtyard. We wanted to make sure guests could enjoy it all year even in the cooler months. We love to have the fire pit outside roaring and the inside fireplaces on as well in the cooler months.

We hope to see you again one day and wish you all the very, very best!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
106
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the greatest bed and breakfast I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

The rooms are luxurious and comfortable and the bathrooms are fantastically spacious. The entire inn is so beautifully and tastefully furnished with antique furnishings.

The breakfast is delicious and one of the beat breakfasts I have had at any guesthouse.

Finally, Rick and Linda are so kind and make you feel instantly welcome.

I could not recommend this inn more strongly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Robert Ruark Inn. It was such a pleasure meeting you!

We really appreciate your comment about the "Best Bed & Breakfast" anywhere. In fact, you made our day! Knowing our guests enjoy the Inn and our service is very important.

Thank you so much! All our very best!!!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The inn is beautifully decorated, clean, and quiet. We spent two nights in "Charlotte's Room", which worked out well for us, although it's a small room with a tiny bathroom. I think the other bedrooms are larger. Linda and Rick were friendly and excellent hosts. Rick gave us, and other guests, a one hour very informative tour of Southport in one of the inn's eight passenger golf carts. Rick also went out of his way to introduce my husband to a neighbor whom he thought would be helpful to my husband's book research. The inn serves wine and hors d'oeuvres daily around 4 PM, in the beautifully appointed dining room. There is ice water and bottled water available, as well as coffee and tea service 24/7. In addition, there is gourmet fudge, served on a glass covered cake plate, set out in the dining room, too. We loved that! Breakfast was juice, yogurt, fresh fruit, quiche, and sausages. Breakfast was tasty. Our only minor complaint is that quiche was served both mornings we were there. We were expecting a change, perhaps pancakes or French toast, on the second morning. Southport is a lovely small town and we really enjoyed our stay at the Robert Ruark Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Charlotte's Room" which is at the top of the stairs. This is a small roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate the time you took to write it and the very kind words as well. It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Southport and at the Robert Ruark Inn! Thank you for the notes about breakfast, too. We agree 100% that variety is important. Our goal is to never repeat a type of breakfast so I do apologize for having quiche two consecutive days. I appreciate you noting it as it reinforces our beliefs as well.

We truly enjoyed meeting you both and the pleasure of introducing you to our neighbor. We hope it helps with your exciting writing endeavor. Please send us a link to your most recent article. It is always nice to see the artistic creations of those we have a pleasure to meet at our Inn.

Thank you, too, for your nice comments about the rooms. Yes...the beds were carefully selected and luxury mattress covers and linens are used. We do have several room types/sizes available with Charlotte's Room being the smallest in sq. footage. It is the only one with a vaulted ceiling and stained glass window but does have a small bathroom compared to the other rooms which have quite large baths.

Thank you again for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn! We wish you all the best and hope you'll join us again for another special anniversary celebration!
All our best, Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This property has been meticulously renovated and filled with period furnishings. We stayed in two rooms, Charlotte's and Virginia's. Charlotte's room is upstairs with high vaulted ceiling and private bath with a claw foot shower that fit two comfortably. Virginia's room contains a fireplace and a private bath with double vanity and a walk in shower with six jets. The innkeepers went out of their way to make our anniversary celebration a fantastic experience. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Virginia's room is on the only room on the main floor and has a king bed with a beautiful bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and the time you took to write it!!! It was a pleasure to have you both stay at the Inn to celebrate your anniversary. We always feel so honored when guests choose the Robert Ruark Inn for their special celebrations!

We love the Inn ourselves but it is makes it all worthwhile to be able to share it with others. We also love seeing guests enjoying all the great restaurants, shops, historical sites, waterfront and Southport overall. I always get a big smile on my face when I see a bicycle parked in front of a store or restaurant and it is a RRI bike with one of our license plates!

Thanks again for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn and for the great review! We hope to see you again one day and wish you both the very, very best!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Robert Ruark Inn to celebrate my grandson's high school graduation in June. Having lived in Southport many years ago we were familiar with the town. Staying at the Inn made us remember why we love Southport, NC. Linda and Rick were wonderful, the Blueberry Bake for breakfast was heavenly. It is a very special place to visit. I enjoyed every minute of it and look forward to returning in the fall!

Room Tip: Captain Adkins room was beautiful with a small balcony overlooking an old Magnolia tree.. Stairs we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Sherry. We enjoyed meeting you both and your grandsons. They are such nice young men and were so polite. We wish your oldest the best as he starts college this fall. Exciting times!!!

Rick and I really enjoyed meeting you both. He will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Blueberry French Toast Bake. It is one of my favorites, too!!!

We'll look forward to seeing you again and wish you a spectacular July 4 celebration and an enjoyable summer!

All our very best,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here for three days to celebrate our two year anniversary! The location of the B&B was great! We could walk everywhere, never had to drive when it came to shopping, eating, or going to walk along the river. Linda & Rick were great host! I loved the tour Rick gave us through the town. He was willing to take us whenever we wanted. The breakfast each more was superb!

We stayed in the Captain Adkins room. Very spacious with a nice bathroom and a private balacony. Very clean which is important for us. We also purchased the romance package and i requested that we have it done the day after we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. It was a nice surprise to walk in the room midday and see it waiting in our room! It was lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
It was such a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were so happy to hear you liked the tour and the 'Romance Package." It makes us so happy to see people come to the Inn when celebrating special occasions like two year anniversaries!!!! We feel honored to be chosen and want to make sure we exceed everyone's expectations. Comments like yours and our other guests make us feel great! We are very thankful.

We hope to see you again one day soon.
All our best for a wonderful summer 2013!!!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Robert Ruark Inn last weekend.From the minute we arrived we loved this beautiful,charming B&B.The Captain Adkins room with its private balcony is a perfect place to relax.Linda and Rick are wonderful innkeepers- from the warm welcome to the extras they provide.Linda took us to and from the Bald Head Island ferry- the tour of Southport Rick provided was so interesting and helpful in finding places of interest and great restaurants.Guest are very pampered beginning each morning with a delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed the afternoon refreshments and talking with the other guest.The peaceful,relaxing atmosphere is a perfect getaway.On our next trip to Southport we will definitely stay at the Robert Ruark Inn.Thank you Rick and Linda for a wonderful weekend. Sam had a great birthday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the review Debbie! We were honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn for Sam's special birthday weekend! Rick and I really enjoyed chatting with you both and seeing you around town. It is so nice to know you had a great time.

We loved to hear that you enjoyed the tour and that it was helpful. When we added the complimentary tours, we hoped people would enjoy them and find them very helpful in guiding them around Southport. We enjoy sharing the Town's history, the waterfront areas, the movie filming sites and pointing out shopping, touring and dining destinations. Thank you so much for letting us know it is beneficial.

We hope to see you again soon and truly enjoyed meeting you both and your kind review.
All our best,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Address: 119 N Lord Street, Southport, NC 28461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living's Feb. 2013 issue, The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert Ruark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.