We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Hostess” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Brunswick Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brunswick Inn
Save
You added The Brunswick Inn to your Saves list
301 East Bay Street, Southport, NC 28461   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Raleigh
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

The owner was rude and narrow minded. Obviously not customer oriented. Save your money and go to Riverview Inn!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

The owner was so rude! She ruined our trip!!! I guess they cater to older people, so she didn't want to 'deal' with us. I'm not sure it was our appearance or younger age, but we were demeaned from the start. The Brunswick Inn is beautiful, but I would NEVER consider staying there ever again; I would NEVER recommend it to anyone else!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy49552, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Again, at the encouragement of guests to respond to a negative review, it is apparent that the review from Disappointed and Rude Hostess were submitted by the couple that stayed on 12/8/08. Unfortunately, we do not remember them or the circumstances but it is upsetting to think that they would find us to be so judgemental. We have 5 children and 8 grandchildren and certainly love to have young, middle aged and older couples stay with us. Sometimes we find that people are not always respectful of other guests staying at the inn or us, as innkeepers. The inn is our personal home and we enjoy opening it up to the public, however, it is sometimes disappointing the lack of respect people have for one another. Again, we apologize and would have liked to have had the couple talk with us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Spent a wonderful fall afternoon sitting on the porch of this beautiful home built in 1859 overlooking the mouth of the Cape Fear River at Southport. Enjoyed the comforts of the home and bedroom that night with a fire in the fireplace. Awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the harbor, and enjoyed a gourmet breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Enjoyed the company of the inkeepers, Jim & Judy. They have restored this old home to perfection. And the view from the second floor balcony is one you will always remember. It was a perfect ending to a trip to NJ to visit family.

  • Liked — The relaxing room.
  • Disliked — Had to leave to go home.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Address: 301 East Bay Street, Southport, NC 28461
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brunswick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.