We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motel

Riverside Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
103 W Bay Street, Southport, NC 28461   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Southport
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This motel is in such a beautiful location, right on the water, with a little porch attached to each room. The room was very clean, our only complaint was at one point we ran out of toilet paper and could not get ahold of anyone to get more - ended up driving to a 7-11 and purchased some. Overall, however, we loved our stay here and would most likely stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Motel is right on the water, single story, quiet and a comfortable room. The room was very clean, all bedding fresh and the bed was comfortable. If you are looking for something different from big city hotels this is the place. There is a back porch with a wonderful view of the river and a porch swing to relax on. The room and bathroom are small however all of the above makes it worth less space. We plan on staying at Riverside Motel next time we are in Southport.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a wonderful view of the river. Ours was towards the center and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location in Southport is great - right on the water and walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

Our room (room 2 I think) was right next to the attached restaurant, which wasn't ideal, and the porch swing area seemed more cramped in the corner than the other porch areas. The view was lovely, but the porches aren't very private. We had a large group staying next to us and almost spilling on to our porch at one point - not really a problem, as they were quiet, but it could have been most unpleasant - not that you can really hold the motel accountable for other guests!!

The room itself had everything you could need and seemed clean enough, but was little rough around the edges. Not sure if my expectations had been raised by the pictures on the internet, but all in all I was little disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Having read the reviews, I was prepared for "basic"...but a little taken aback by appearances. Later,after some time in the swing,getting a workable combination of pillows (my bad..should have brought my own) and finding the bedside light was just right for reading, I was Ok. I called to see about a TV listing and, returning from a torrential trip to dinner, found one hand-delivered and stuck in my door. And when I woke up this morning, a HUGE freighter was going by. Makes up for the rest...plus some! HOWEVER...beware of that "restaurant next door"! BadbadbadBAD!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed at Riverside Motel about 6 times now, I love this motel. Pros: location, private swing on back porch facing the water, very relaxing, has connecting restuarant, other resturants in walking distance as well as shops. Fishing pier, has books in room to help with local events and stores. Cons: rooms are a bit small, the bathrooms could use a 2nd inspection during cleaning, wasn't the cleanest but bearable. parking is a bit tough if you have late check in - the lots are not marked and people are not parking to allow for others. Some people may think stray cats are a nuisance but I personally like animals - regardless they are wondering around some but are very scared of people. Overall I love it because I keep going back :)

Room Tip: check website page to see room pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Riverside for two nights. The location is unbeatable. No argument there. The room was comfortable, however extremely moldy and the smell was really difficult to deal with. I have allergies and needed to take a benadryll in order to be able to stay there. The water pressure in the shower was minimal - barely a trickle. I asked for an iron and was given something that looked like sandpaper. Needless to say - I couldn't use it. The gentleman attending to the rooms was helpful, however, overall, the accommodations were a disappointment. The view and the location keep this spot on the map.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I are in love with Southport and try to make the trip every spring. We have NEVER been anything but completely satisfied with the Riverside Motel. The room's back porch is just too good to be true, literally right on the mouth of the Cape Fear. Everything is easily within walking distance, and it's so peaceful at night. Clean rooms, never any problems with heat or AC, and the staff is always courteous and friendly. Our only "minus" is the No Pets policy, but we completely understand the need and have no problem with it. So cozy and relaxing...simply a wonderful place to stay while visiting one of the most beautiful towns in southeastern NC.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem a bit more private and have 2 windows as opposed to just 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 103 W Bay Street, Southport, NC 28461
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Southport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Motel is Southport's only motel on the riverbank in historic downtown. All rooms come with fans, phones, coffee, cable TV, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms also have porches with swings facing the river with a panoramic view. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverside Motel to your Saves list