We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Full Moon Oyster Bar

The Full Moon Oyster Bar
104 Brucewood Rd, Southern Pines, NC 28327
+1 910-246-2048
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Oyster Bar, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found this restaurant with some friends totally by accident. It's behind the main drag with the front facing the opposite direction than the street. We were turning around to go elsewhere and there it was.

It's basically one giant bar with bends here and there. It's great for two or three people but would be hard for five or six to enjoy each other around the bar. There are a few tables outside, but there's the heat this time of year to contend with.

Had the Low Country Boil and a peck of Oysters. They were very good. A hard combination to beat with a cold beer. The service was good and the people behind the bar made you feel so welcome. This is a nice place that is in it's beginning stages. Give them a try. You'll not be sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time visit, but I am an oyster lover. Fairly broad menu, not just oysters. Many different fresh catch options, which change almost daily. Fresh oysters are served by the peck or 1/2 peck and priced accordingly. The number of oysters varies by their size. Shucked at the bar by your "shucker". All seats are "at the bar" which creates a lively setting.

I consider this the best seafood restaurant in the area, great choices, and well prepared food. Downside is it is fairly pricey. 1/2 peck of oysters, a calamari appetizer and my wife's grouper entree, three domestic beers cost us $70.00 after tip for two diners.

They do have specials during the week, might be worth checking out.

Inside and also outside dining is available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

While my wife and I were visiting our son and his family in North Carolina we visited the Full Moon Oyster Bar with them. Our son challenged me to to a contest to see who could eat 6 of their Quarter Moon appetizer and win a t-shirt. Considering the Quarter Moon is a saltine cracker topped with a generous dollop of horseradish, a slice of jalapeno, salt, pepper, hot sauce and a BIG oyster this sounded like a challenge. It actually turned out to be an easy task because they tasted so good! Of course our free t-shirts cost us $45 each (6 times $9.00)!!

The Full Moon is an oyster bar, not a sit down restaurant. It's a fun place with great staff and excellent seafood. To me it's a place to go to with family and friends, not a date (unless she really like oysters!!).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Neat Place. Just a large bar no tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had Crusted Tuna Bites and the Fried Oyster salad very good. Service was almost fast food paced I had the rushed feeling. Very noisy inside also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best seafood inland from the coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly new restaurant that has the freshest seafood around. The crab bisque is amazing. The variety of seafood is great. The staff is friendly and very professional. Lots of different kinds of fresh oysters and the raw clams are the best outside of NYC. Great value for your buck! Love this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Full Moon Oyster Bar also viewed

Southern Pines, NC
 
Southern Pines, NC
Southern Pines, NC
 

Been to The Full Moon Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Full Moon Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.