We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mid Pines Golf Club

Mid Pines Golf Club
1010 Midland Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-692-2114, 800-323-2114
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First opened for play in the Spring of 1921, this Donald Ross-traditional course features small, undulating greens, narrow fairways and a variety of holes to test the skill of any golfer.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOLF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Friendly staff and service was great.Course in great shape an always colorful.Cant wait to play sister course Pine Needles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst,NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service and History at it's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tom Higgins always makes sure our stay is absolutely delightful and goes out of his way to serve! The great golf course and beautiful inn got us in the door, but he's the one who keeps us coming back year after year! He truly knows the meaning of True Southern Hospitality!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A go-to for golf buddies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Why do guys try to play golf venues that make sense only in the unlikely event that all are single-digit handicap golfers? Mid Pines offers classic Donald Ross design, enough challenge to accommodate a range of abilities, and a warm, hospitable setting reflecting its family ownership. Mid Pines is in the heart of the Sandhills in Southern Pines, in close proximity to affordable golf villas available through Village of Pinehurst Rentals & Golf, as well as many great courses, including its across-the-road sibling, Pine Needles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Donald Ross - Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

While I did not shoot my best round of the week, I absolutely love playing at Mid Pines. Definitely, a course you could walk as it is built in the old style with the next tee adjacent to the previous green. Make sure your putter is working, because these are some of the most difficult Donald Ross greens I have played and I have played Pinehurst #2.

I love the tradition of this course. It is a great scene coming up 18 and seeing the majestic hotel.

My friends had the breakfast buffet in the morning and said it was great and was around $12. I will definitely be hitting the buffet next year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A challenging course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love that they host the U.S. Kids World Golf Championship. It wasn't an easy course for my nephew but I know that he will learn from his experience there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid Pines Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Mid Pines Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid Pines Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.